D Link 4100 router problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
i just purchased a dlink broadband gigabyte gaming router and tried to hook it up and won't work. All lights are working correctly , but no connection. and even went throught internet connection wizard setup about 3-4 times but still no connection, but when i hooked up my siemens speed stream it works fine? THe product was described as plug and play and that was the only reason why i bought it. I'm a noob when it comes to stuff like this so any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

You have not configured the router for your Internet connection type. What kind of modem are you using? Cable? DSL?

snowman503 said:
i just purchased a dlink broadband gigabyte gaming router and tried to hook it up and won't work. All lights are working correctly , but no connection. and even went throught internet connection wizard setup about 3-4 times but still no connection, but when i hooked up my siemens speed stream it works fine? THe product was described as plug and play and that was the only reason why i bought it. I'm a noob when it comes to stuff like this so any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

You have DSL and you need to setup the DSL account information in your router.
User name and password.

Also you might need to update the firmware of the router from the dlink website first.

1. update the firmware
2. press the reset button on the router
3. configure the router for DSL
4. add your username and password for your DSL account
5. connect to the internet with the router

If you have problems with step 5 they're could be an issue with the new router?
Since you already ruled out that the DSL modem can connect to the internet bypassing the router altogether.

dlink 4100

Tmagic650 said:
You have not configured the router for your Internet connection type. What kind of modem are you using? Cable? DSL?