DDR or DDR2 and other questions about RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

nilesp

It's been a long time since I actually bought/installed any hardware of dignity and am, nowadays, a little lost when it comes to choosing what to buy.

I have a PC with an Intel 4 (Prescott) 3.60GHz CPU with 2x 512 Mb of DDR-400 (PC-3200) (max frequency 200MHz) installed (the manucaturer is Micron technology), the CAS latency is 3.

I'd like 2Gb total of ram and I'm wondering a couple of things;

1. I can't very well use DDR2 or can I/should I?
2. Should whatever memory I buy have the same CAS latency and frequency?
3. Should I buy a 1Gb and keep my 2 512's or should I buy 1 2Gb or 2x1Gb?

Thankful for any useful tips
/Emil

Im not sure if the amazing people here at techspot can answer this without knowing what your motherboard is. I AM NOT AN EXPERT, I KNOW LITTLE OF MEMORY, but I will try to answer these questions.

1. I can't very well use DDR2 or can I/should I?

Depending on what your motherboard suports you should be able to use DDR2. DDR3 Is new in the market but still costs a lot, and your motherboard may not suport it so I would stick with DDR2 unless you have a couple hundred to spare.

2. Should whatever memory I buy have the same CAS latency and frequency?

I dont think It has to be the same but I would recommend not switching it up to much becuase of errors that may start occuring, buying a pack of ither 2x 1GB or 2GB would probably be best.

3. Should I buy a 1Gb and keep my 2 512's or should I buy 1 2Gb or 2x1Gb?

Im not sure if this has any effect on performance but as long as you have a total of 2 GB I dont think it matters, but I would either try to keep my slots free and go with the 2 GB stick, or spare the memory you already have and add on 1 GB. I would just be aware that If you keep the 2x 512's and buy a new 1 GB stick there might be errors due to the differences.