Dell 8400 BSODs after replacing dead (clicking) HD

By snowgoose
May 22, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi - virgin post so hope it's in the right place!

    Had to replace Maxtor SATA 250GB HD after it started clicking and BSODs. Now using TrekStor SATA 750GB HD but after installing Win XP it crashed at the very end of the install (XP install seems fine) and has continued blue screening every few minutes since, though works fine in Safe Mode and also has passed every one of the Dell Diagnostic tests (full version). Have installed the latest drivers (at far as I know) for chipset etc, but still frequent BSODs. Have a selection of minidump files - unsure how to analyse them - not always the same message - sometimes involving iastore.sys, sometimes not. Recommended to this site, though I'm not a techie (prepared to have a go). Machine 2 months outside 3 yr warranty - what a pain! Would really appreciate advice on what to do next - have spent 2 days researching to no avail.
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,675   +152

    Is this a 2004 system? Have you tried updating the motherboards bios?
  3. snowgoose

    snowgoose Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Thanks for the quick response. I have moved it from A04 to A09 (I think) which was the latest version of the BIOS on the Dell site - is that what you were asking (excuse my limited knowledge)
  4. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,675   +152

    Yes, that's what I wanted to know. Is the Dell a 2004 model? Just curious
  5. snowgoose

    snowgoose Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Not sure how to tell the year - assume it was 2004 because it was purchased in early March 2005
  6. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Very good Dell model. We service them all over the southwest. Very few problems are reported, but the drive setup from scratch has been a tickler.
    Suggest you look at the drive setup tools on the drive manufacturer's website. The drive setup is the usual problem... at least with Seagate, Western Digital, and Samsung.
    Also check your specs when you depress <F12> which should be available even without a drive.
  7. peterdiva

    peterdiva TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 1,202

    I wouldn't be surprised if Panda AV is the problem. Even though it looks like a hard drive problem, I've seen a similar problem caused by software.

    The link below is caused by Spyware Doctor. If you look at the STACK_TEXT from the first post, it's exactly the same as yours (the file being the only difference).

    http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?t=67375

    BugCheck F4, {3, 8697cb10, 8697cc84, 80605666}
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for PavProc.sys
    Probably caused by : hardware_disk

    0: kd> kb
    ChildEBP RetAddr Args to Child
    f316b50c 80635b51 000000f4 00000003 8697cb10 nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x1b
    f316b530 80605624 80605666 8697cb10 8697cc84 nt!PspCatchCriticalBreak+0x75
    f316b560 ee5154d4 8697cd58 c0000006 00000454 nt!NtTerminateProcess+0x7d
    WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
    f316b574 804dd98f ffffffff c0000006 f316b9b0 PavProc+0x14d4 <---- Panda.
    f316b574 804e4697 ffffffff c0000006 f316b9b0 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0xfc
    f316b5f4 805221d8 ffffffff c0000006 f316b9f8 nt!ZwTerminateProcess+0x11
    f316b9b0 80518444 f316b9d8 00000000 f316bd64 nt!KiDispatchException+0x3a0
    f316bd34 804e1298 0053f28c 0053f2ac 00000000 nt!KiRaiseException+0x175
    f316bd50 804dd98f 0053f28c 0053f2ac 00000000 nt!NtRaiseException+0x33
    f316bd50 75b900d1 0053f28c 0053f2ac 00000000 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0xfc
    0053fe9c 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x75b900d1
  8. snowgoose

    snowgoose Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Thanks for both recent posts.

    Re: raybay, I'm now digging around to see what drive setup tools there might be in case I've missed something.

    Thanks also peterdiva - although running Panda, the first blue screen came immediately following the Windows XP install and before installing the AV. I suppose I could have multiple problems, but that would be even more depressing!
  9. peterdiva

    peterdiva TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 1,202

    Only two of the the dumps weren't F4s. These were blamed on iaStor.sys (see link). See if you can update this as well as Panda.

    http://www.file.net/process/iastor.sys.html

    BugCheck 1000007E, {c0000005, f74a4efa, f7a37ba4, f7a378a0}
    Probably caused by : iaStor.sys ( iaStor+30efa )
    Image name: iaStor.sys Timestamp: Wed Mar 24 04:13:55 2004 (40608C73)
  10. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,675   +152

    Maybe a bios update would help. "iaStor.sys" is an Intel chipset driver and Panda hasn't been installed at this point
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.