Dell Dimension 2400 CPU upgrade?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering if a Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 2.8GHz Socket 478 Processor would work with a Dell Dimension 2400 motherboard that has a intel Celeron 478 pin processor 400Mhz Fsb? Will it work if the Pentium 4 processor is 533Mhz? I'm not that good with computers so help me out. Im just trying to upgrade. Thx ^_^

I also have a Dimension 2400 and want to upgrade it.
Are either of the following likely to work?

1) Intel Pentium4 3.06ghz Socket 478 533fsb

2) Intel Pentium 4 3.06Ghz Processor

sSpec: SL726
Socket 478
512 Cache
533 FSB
0.13 micron

I notice number 2 is a Pentium 4 M. Does the mobile bit matter since I want to use it in a Desktop. Will the Speedstep cause me any problems?

Thanks
Regards
Jonathan

I have a Dell Dimension 2400 with 2GB of RAM. (DDR)

I will like to upgrade my Processor to the best compatible chip.

Right now i have a 1.6GHz Processor.

Thank for the help,
Mynameishere1. :)

Give me links to the Processors Please.

Upgrade Dell Dimension 2400

I, too, would like to upgrade my system.
now, I'm not too familiar with all this.

currently, I have...

Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz
bus speed - 99.7
2 gb RAM (maxed out)
I'm running XP pro SP 3

I want to make this not difficult.
Can I just upgrade the processor. I'm looking to make my system faster. does upgrading the processor upgrade the FSB too and the cache's?

thanks ahead

Your CPU change will not mean much...
What memory do you have DDR or DDR2... you can sometimes upgrade your memory by substantial amounts...
Increase your hard drive from a 5400 rpm to a 7200 rpm to a 10,000 rpm...
But your Front Side Bus cannot be speedily upgraded... and that is the problem area as FSB is determined by the motherboard.