Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all
I am no computer expert! Just use one in home office for my living

For the last week, I have been plagued by
generic.dialer trojan

I have Norton Internet Security 2007 loaded on Windows XP system
I also use Spbot S + D and Webroot Spysweeper

I have been in contact with Symantec.com who while helpful, take control of the pc and delete the offending virus

However they don't appear to be successful at getting to the cause of the problem and deleting it permanently from my system

The infected file was located in program files/on line services/btyahoo
It has now been removed but the pc is still acting abnormally

Another symptom is that my windows security center is "disabled" and cannot be unlocked

I have formatted my computer three times this week and reloaded XP using the factory supplied recovery disks

It loads without problems

However, as soon as I updated XP from Microsoft, I noticed the computer becoming unstable again

I did a scan using Norton Internet Security and ran spybot

Here is the log of Norton IS:-

Source: [btwebcontrol.dll] inside of [_____] inside of [c:\program files\online services\btyahoo\hppre05.msi]
Risk category: Dialer
Overall Risk Impact: High
Click for more information about this risk : Dialer.Generic
Action taken: Removal failed

I have been in touch with Symantec on their livechat 3 times and paid them £70!

Each time, they are helpful and say they have removed the infected file

With difficulty, they re-start the windows security centre

However, the next day, the virus reappears and I have become exasperated!

Usually formatting the HD and reloading windows resolves these kinds of problems

But this is persisting

I am at a complete loss what to do next?

I could load up XP or I could load Vista but I fear i will have the same frustration once more

Can anyone please help?

Many thanks

Hello and welcome to Techspot.