TechSpot

DNS lookup failed, continuously

By dhkim2
Sep 11, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hi, I use Windows 7 64-bit as my OS. I just moved into a new apartment, got the internet installed, and was using it for 2 days or so. Suddenly, it was taking much longer to load sites, then it would just show a "dns lookup failed, etc..." message. This happens regardless of browser used: chrome, opera, firefox, IE...

    Strange thing is, that the internet connection is still very strong, and my service is 25 mb/s, so I still download torrents at speeds of 3 mb/s. It just can't seem to manage more than one thing. For instance, while downloading a torrent even at speeds of just 200 kb/s, if i try to check out websites, the DNS message will usually show up again by the 2nd opened page.

    It's pretty much like this all the time though. I've used Hijack this, malwarebytes, and avg free version to get rid of whatever malicious thing might be in my comp., but no success so far.

    Any suggestions would be great.

    BTW, I'm a completely newb, so explicit instructions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    get a command prompt window (start->run->cmd)
    enter IPCONFIG /ALL >myTcp.txt

    open the myTcp.txt file, copy all the data <ctl>c
    and follow-up to this thread, pasting the data.

    PLEASE describe your Internet setup

    ISP name?
    connection type? {dial-up, DSL, Cable, Satellite}

    Brand name and model of your modem? _____ your router _____?

    Are you using a wired or wifi connection?
     
  3. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    i copy pasted the command, but nada... where do i space everything are capital letters relevant?

    sorry for the ignorance, i'm a complete luddite.

    UBee: DDW3610

    ISP: Charter Communications

    Cable modem,

    WIFI, but wired seems even worse with the same "dns link" problem.

    Also, I just received the UBEE modem from Charter after they were unable to diagnose the problem. Before I had a linksys one, which worked well for almost a year.

    I just moved to a new apartment and in the beginning the internet worked beautifully but within 2 days, this started happening. This is the 7th day or so now.

    I can still download fairly quickly, and when pages open at all they open quickly, while others open slowly, and the substantial remainder leads me straight to the DNS link error.
     
  4. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    It would be easier to read if you click the # sign (the last icon above the reply window) and paste in between the two tags - -
    Upper vs lower case don't matter.

    dbl-click on the myTcp.txt file (which will launch the notepad tool), select the contents shown and <ctl>c. Come back to a new followup reply on thus thread and <ctl>p
     
  5. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    Is this it?

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-D9-06-4A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::650a:fa45:32b0:3500%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 12, 2011 10:01:46 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 12, 2011 11:01:46 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268445383
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-23-C3-82-78-AC-C0-55-86-FE
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.217.0.5
    24.217.201.67
    68.113.206.10
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-2A-82-30-6E-5C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{555E99E3-BC44-454E-984F-4206A1CDB8C1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:cf2:a40:e794:fdd8(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cf2:a40:e794:fdd8%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    BINGO :)

    I see that IPv6 is active on your Windows 7 system; you should disable IPv6 - - here's how
    Windows 7 solution here

    Expand the TOP box and click the box on the far left
    (Fix it 50409)
     
  7. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    still having the dns lookup problem.

    do you think this will be resolved if i just reformatted my computer?

    have to say though that it works fine with other online networks.
     
  8. LordThumper

    LordThumper TS Rookie

    Google DNS

    Try changing your DNS servers to Google ones.

    Control Panel -> Networking and Sharing Center -> Change adapter settings

    Right-click your connection (Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN) and click Properties.

    Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list.

    Click Properties.

    Select Use the following DNS server addresses and type the following.

    Preferred DNS server: 8.8.8.8
    Alternate DNS server: 8.8.4.4

    Click OK twice.
     
  9. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    dns lookup failure problem has gone down drastically but it still happens from time to time, and internet overall is still slow compared to what i should be getting 25 mb/s. The best that i can hope for according to speedtest.net is 13 mb/s, which is still alright but half of what i should be getting. Also, it goes fast then impossibly slow, then fast at a moment's notice for no apparent reason.

    much better, but once again, do you think reformatting would solve the problem? i really don't want to, but if i have to, i guess i gotta.
     
  10. LordThumper

    LordThumper TS Rookie

    No, reformatting will probably have no effect.

    Is the Wifi router in the same room as your PC?

    Try connecting to it directly using an Ethernet cable if it has a free Ethernet port. Might improve the connection speed slightly.
     
  11. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    first find your DNS Settings
    eg:
    Code:
    Preferred DNS server: 8.8.8.8
    Alternate DNS server: 8.8.4.4
    then get a command prompt and enter pathping 8.8.8.8 and you will see something like
    Code:
    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
      0  192.168.0.4
      1  [192.168.0.1
      2  50.113.144.1
      3  76.167.22.193
      4  tge2-2-0.vnnyca2-rtr2.socal.rr.com [72.129.13.104]
      5  72.129.13.2
      6  107.14.17.134
      7  66.109.9.26
      8  72.14.198.73
      9  64.233.174.238
     10  72.14.238.0
     11  72.14.239.162
     12  216.239.48.165
     13     *     72.14.232.6
     14  google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    Computing statistics for 350 seconds...
    wait for it to complete

    you should have ZERO losses from top to bottom, but if you see any, then the problem is in the network path to that DNS, not your system.

    example
    Code:
                Source to Here   This Node/Link
    Hop  RTT    Lost/Sent = Pct  Lost/Sent = Pct  Address
      0                                           192.168.0.4
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      1    0ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%   192.168.0.1
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      2    8ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  50.113.144.1
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      3    8ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  76.167.22.193
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      4   16ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  tge2-2-0.vnnyca2-rtr2.socal.rr.com [72.129.13.104]
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      5   19ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  72.129.13.2
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      6   14ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  107.14.17.134
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      7   13ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  66.109.9.26
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      8   13ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  72.14.198.73
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
      9   16ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  64.233.174.238
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
     10  ---     100/ 100 =100%   100/ 100 =100%  72.14.238.0
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
     11  ---     100/ 100 =100%   100/ 100 =100%  72.14.239.162
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
     12  ---     100/ 100 =100%   100/ 100 =100%  216.239.48.165
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
     13  ---     100/ 100 =100%   100/ 100 =100%  72.14.232.6
                                    0/ 100 =  0%   |
     14   39ms     0/ 100 =  0%     0/ 100 =  0%  google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    
    Trace complete.
     
     
  12. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    it's right next to the laptop, and re: cable, it makes it significantly worse for some reason.
     
  13. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    C:\Windows\system32>pathping 8.8.8.8

    Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    0 kimjack-HP [192.168.0.3]
    1 10.161.192.1
    2 dtr01ovldmo-tge-0-3-0-0.ovld.mo.charter.com [96.34.52.114]
    3 bbr01olvemo-tge-0-1-0-11.olve.mo.charter.com [96.34.2.88]
    4 bbr02chcgil-tge-0-1-0-3.chcg.il.charter.com [96.34.0.182]
    5 prr01chcgil-tge-2-4.chcg.il.charter.com [96.34.3.46]
    6 96-34-152-30.static.unas.mo.charter.com [96.34.152.30]
    7 209.85.254.120
    8 209.85.241.22
    9 216.239.43.217
    10 216.239.47.189
    11 google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

    Computing statistics for 275 seconds...
    Source to Here This Node/Link
    Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
    0 kimjack-HP [192.168.0.3]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    1 --- 100/ 100 =100% 100/ 100 =100% 10.161.192.1
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    2 12ms 3/ 100 = 3% 3/ 100 = 3% dtr01ovldmo-tge-0-3-0-0.ovld.mo.ch
    arter.com [96.34.52.114]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    3 18ms 1/ 100 = 1% 1/ 100 = 1% bbr01olvemo-tge-0-1-0-11.olve.mo.c
    harter.com [96.34.2.88]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    4 25ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% bbr02chcgil-tge-0-1-0-3.chcg.il.ch
    arter.com [96.34.0.182]
    1/ 100 = 1% |
    5 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% prr01chcgil-tge-2-4.chcg.il.charte
    r.com [96.34.3.46]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    6 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% 96-34-152-30.static.unas.mo.charte
    r.com [96.34.152.30]
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    7 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% 209.85.254.120
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    8 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% 209.85.241.22
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    9 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% 216.239.43.217
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    10 --- 100/ 100 =100% 99/ 100 = 99% 216.239.47.189
    0/ 100 = 0% |
    11 29ms 1/ 100 = 1% 0/ 100 = 0% google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.
    8.8.8]

    Trace complete.
     
  14. LordThumper

    LordThumper TS Rookie

    After connecting to your WiFi router using an Ethernet cable, you will need to re-set the dns settings to your Network Adapter.

    The slow, fluctuating connection speed is probably caused by your ISP. Do a speedtest after connecting with a cable and post results.
     
  15. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    just reformatted, completely boned, wtf is this DNS error thingy...

    if i change isp's will it change? WTF is a DNS? Never had a problem like this, arrghh
     
  16. LordThumper

    LordThumper TS Rookie

    DNS servers translate a hostname (eg. google.com) into an IP address (eg. 209.85.148.104).

    Your ISP DNS servers might not be very stable, that is why I suggested using Google's ones. Replacing DNS servers should fix the issue, regardless of what ISP you are using.

    However other connection issues, such unreliable connection speeds can usually be fixed by changing the ISP.
     
  17. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    hmm; sorry to see you jumped into reformatting prematurely.

    the results from pathping show heavy packet losses in nodes
    1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

    and your nightmare is node one is your router or ISP, depending upon your setup.

    Your system is(was) at 192.168.0.3 and node 1 was 10.161.192.1
    This is a most unusual setup and I've only seen that when the ISP access was via a Satellite connection.

    Sadly, you are likely to still experience this or other internet connection problems as the setup needs to be corrected.
     
  18. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    to jobeard:

    if i switch ISP's do you think this would fix it?

    Charter technicians are so undertrained, even if I show this to them, they probably wouldn't understand.
     
  19. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    sadly, I have to agree.

    1) get a running system

    2) disable IPv6 & reboot

    3) get a command prompt and enter ipconfig /all >myTcp.txt

    4) locate myTcp.txt, open it and COPY all the contents

    5) come back to this thread and follow-up by PASTING the data
     
  20. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jack-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-D9-06-4A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 18, 2011 10:07:32 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 19, 2011 12:07:29 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-2A-82-30-6E-5C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{555E99E3-BC44-454E-984F-4206A1CDB8C1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c28:3ca7:e794:fdd8(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c28:3ca7:e794:fdd8%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  21. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

  22. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    damn, can't believe att charges over 200 dollars for one-time installation costs, lol.
     
  23. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    I see you've set the DNS to be that of google - - let's see if you can reach it
    ping 8.8.8.8
    this should give timings and no timeouts.
    also retry tracert google.com. note there's a DOT after .com
     
  24. dhkim2

    dhkim2 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    damn hope i can fix this. att is charging 100 bucks for one-time installation costs even AFTER coupons and "deals."

    C:\Users\jack>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 27ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 28ms





    C:\Users\jack>tracert google.com.

    Tracing route to google.com [74.125.225.82]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.161.192.1
    2 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms dtr01ovldmo-tge-0-3-0-0.ovld.mo.charter.com [96.
    34.52.114]
    3 10 ms 11 ms 10 ms bbr01olvemo-tge-0-1-0-11.olve.mo.charter.com [96
    .34.2.88]
    4 27 ms 22 ms 22 ms bbr02chcgil-tge-0-0-0-5.chcg.il.charter.com [96.
    34.0.246]
    5 16 ms 14 ms 15 ms prr01chcgil-tge-2-1.chcg.il.charter.com [96.34.3
    .11]
    6 16 ms 16 ms 20 ms 74.125.51.253
    7 17 ms 18 ms 15 ms 209.85.254.128
    8 22 ms 17 ms 18 ms 209.85.250.30
    9 21 ms 16 ms 17 ms 74.125.225.82

    Trace complete.
     
  25. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

    these look correct - - try your browser on this

    if you get the google home page, then all other sites and your email should be ok too.

    if not, please be specific with the symptom AND post the url attempted
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.