TechSpot

Downloading ME OS?????

By simran
Sep 21, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zeus_2007

    Zeus_2007 TS Rookie

    Win 2000

    I Think Win 2000 SP4 will be the best for the specs provided of the pc!

    You will get the best performance out of it compared to XP on 128MB RAM!

    Cheers
  2. simran

    simran TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 28

    i just put in the old boot floopy disk that i had made for ME and formatted C drive again by typing format C...........i could not be bothered following all the XP instructions on uninstalling it.......I am a bit dumb in all this technical stuff :s
    lol not like you all smart people

    so anyway that solves me giving away my xp problem.

    By the way it is not a laptop it is a desktop PC.....pentium 3 800 something mHz with 127mb ram....

    Im gona try possibly installing xubuntu............the thing is i did check the disk for problems in one of the options menu when it boots for ubuntu and there were no problems..or m gona try the ubuntu 7.1 something version for alternate CD.............if none of these 2 options work then i give up
  3. Fragrant Coit

    Fragrant Coit TS Maniac Posts: 579

    Ubuntu itself is heaps easier for a Noob to use - it has ADD/REMOVE progs, where you can get apps off the net & it's all automatic.

    Xubuntu is trickier for noobies - you need to use APT-GET in Terminal.

    I may be wrong, but doesn't Ubuntu need 256Mb to run - even in Live mode? That could be 1/2 the problem.
  4. Fragrant Coit

    Fragrant Coit TS Maniac Posts: 579

    Just found this.... System Requirements

    Ubuntu is available for PC, 64-Bit and Mac architectures. At least 256 MB of RAM is required to run the desktop install CD. Install requires at least 4 GB of disk space.
  5. simran

    simran TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 28

    So means i cant install it cause of the Ram....Yikes!!
  6. Fragrant Coit

    Fragrant Coit TS Maniac Posts: 579

    I'd imagine it's the old PC133 RAM - bloody expensive new, but you ought to be able to source some used stuff.

    I don't suppose you are anywhere near me? I have heaps of it.
  7. simran

    simran TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 28

    M in New Zealand lol

    i dont no what sort of RAM.......Just some years ago when we were actually using that computer i did decide to upgrade the RAM and bought some gave it to a friends friend to add in the RAM and install XP on it...........But i was told the RAM would not work on that PC cause PC is old needs a different type of RAM, although i think he added in like 30MB or something and thats how its up to 127.......it was even less than that before it!!

    i guess when you dont no much about computers and i mean nothing at all, sales people will talk you into buying any piece of crap which is how we ended up buying the ME comp!
  8. Fragrant Coit

    Fragrant Coit TS Maniac Posts: 579

    I'm 99% sure it's PC133 - DDR didn't come out until the P4.

    If you ask around, or look in your equivilant of the Trading Post, you should be able to get another 128 or 256 pretty easily. The more the better, really.

    Old PC's... By the time you've farted around with them, spent days looking for Drivers, etc etc you'd be better off building a new one!
  9. Zeus_2007

    Zeus_2007 TS Rookie

    Win 2000

    Just install Win 2000 and you wont need any more RAM and your pc will work just fine.

    Believe me i work work those machines a lot.

    XP will be the better option but not with the RAM you have!

    Hope u work it out!

    Cheers
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.