Dropped laptop, now it freezes

BeastMode 17

Hello all!! I am a computer technician and recently my father just dropped the family laptop who then tried to turn it on which was a failure. A couple hours later I took a look at it and it turned back on for me and let me sign in, however 30 min. after the boot up it just froze and had to be manually rebooted. I already ran a check disk and everything seems to be fine with the hdd I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to fix the issue? The laptop is a Sony Vaio VGN-NW240F running Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Personally, I think it's your hard drive. They are sensitive to physical shock and a failing drive can produce seemingly random, intermittent issues with results exactly as you describe.

already ran a check disk and everything seems to be fine

So, chkdsk doesn't necessarily guarantee that the hard drive is OK... I would run a full diagnostic using something that can analyze sensor data, like the diagnostic utility provided by the company which designs the hard drive in your laptop. It may be Western Digital... Hitachi... Toshiba... Samsung.. Seagate etc.. There's a somewhat aging list of these programs here.

Alternatively, and more simply, I would download and burn the UBCD -- it contains all of these utilities in a simple to burn ISO. You can download UBCD here. Once you have the ISO, you can burn it with a program like imgburn.