DVD ROM won't read CDs

Giwrgos

Hey everyone,

Well this is my problem:My pc has a DVD rom that will open DVDs but not CDs.Any suggestions?The problem occured recently, but can't remember if i did any sagnificant actions.However the problem remained when i changed my windows from xp to 7.

Optical drives do wear out... You can try and delete the drive in the Device Manager and let Windows re-install it on a restart. if this doesn't bring the drive back to full working condition, the optical drive will have to be replaced

well its a 5 year old pc...it could be true...But is runs DVDs...it just don't run CDs.I 'll try what you said though.Where is the device manager?i am new to windows 7 and i am having a hard time...

T magic i did what you said.Unistaled it, restarted the pc, the windows automaticaly re instaled it but the same thing happens

To my understanding, there are 2 different read lasers, one for DVD, one for CD. Given this is quite an old drive, a bad CD read laser could be the problem Anybody want to back me up, or shed some additional light on that?

Given that 19 bucks would buy a replacement; http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118040 it's not the end of the world. Although, this is a SATA connected drive, and considering the age of the PC in question, you would most likely need an IDE model.

Audio is data, yes, but it is a different format, requiring different drivers to be installed.
First...
1.Open Device Manager.
2.Right-click your CD drive, and then click Properties.

What is the status of the "Enable digital CD audio for this CD-ROM device" check box?
If it IS checked, then you may need to (rollback or) update your audio chipset drivers.

Again, from device manager...
1. Do you have any icons with Red or Yellow warning symbols? If so, these indicate problems.
2. Under Sound, Video, and Game Controllers, check each of the areas dealing with audio.
Try rolling back or updating each of them.