Error installing XP in new PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dear Friends,
I am not a tech person but I have been using PC for about 15 years. I have been using a Pentium 4 pc till 2 weeks back. Then I hot mad with AVCHD editing and I updated my PC.
I went for an assembled system (not a branded one). I asked for a configuration for video editing
The configuration is
I7 processor 2.65 GH
Intel mother board + Nvidia graphics (the detailed I can provide if needed)
2 GB DD ram there are 3 slots (the person told me only about 3.5 gb will be used by 32 bit OS. So total memory is 6GB
1 TB hard drive

When I tried installing XP- even during the installation itself the pc freezes - some ntfs.sys error. when I restart the set up continues.
some thing like page file error also comes after some time.
Finally I could install XP.
After that also the system restarts once in a while after a blue screen and it disappears suddenly ( I could not read anything on that). The hard showed few errors when i did disk check from windows.
I took the PC to the vendor. Initially he said there is no problem. Later he said if you remove one 2gb DDR from one of the 3 slots it is fine. he can't explain why? I asked if there are 3 slots and ioneslot is defective the mother borad is not good.
Then he changed the mother board and put a new one.
But the problem persisted. When I contacted he asked me to use genuine windows software saying it is a software problem.
I did that also get a new copy of original XP.
But the problem is still unsolved. Today also while installing theses message appears and system stops. But I could complete installation.
Please help me to solve

I had the very same problem.

Tell me what ram cards you are using (ocz platinum edition maybe?) and also tell me how much power you are giving them in the BIOS.