Ethernet not working, 169.xx ip address

So this is my first time making a forum post, since I am not desperate because nothing I've tried has worked. So two weeks ago I had an electrical surge in my house, on my desktop the ethernet port on the motherboard died, so I sent back my motherboard to have that fixed. Now that I have it back I tried getting my ethernet to work, though now the connection properly works (as in the local area connection is now at least recognized) I still have no internet access. I just tried reinstalling Windows 7 64 bit, fresh install after I wiped everything. My ethernet adapter is called Realtek PCIe GBI Family controller. I have a E2500 Linksys router and a Comcast modem, I tried plugging the ethernet cable into each other but no luck. Currently I'm attempting to at least make the desktop use the modem internet directly. I seem to be sending packets but not receiving them when I looked in the Status of the Local Area Connection, in network connection details I have an autoconfiguration ipv4 of 196.254.xxx.xxx, ipv4 subnet mask, 255.255.0.0, and nothing in the ipv4 default gateway,dns server, or wins server, and no ipv6 default gateway.. I've tried many things, too many to name now, but I am willing to try anything you guys mention and post the appropriate data or logs, just tell me what it is you would like to see. Any help would be highly appreciated!

Anytime you see 169.x.y.z, that's the clue that your DHCP request to the router did not get an answer.

DHCP should return an IP address directly related to your router's address and two DNS addresses.

search the form for DHCP - - I've posted a solution here on TS.

Anytime you see 169.x.y.z, that's the clue that your DHCP request to the router did not get an answer.

DHCP should return an IP address directly related to your router's address and two DNS addresses.

search the form for DHCP - - I've posted a solution here on TS.