TechSpot

Facebook changes default privacy settings for new users to keep them from oversharing

By Jos
May 22, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. Facebook is changing the default privacy setting for posts so that they're viewable only by Friends. Until now, when new users sent out photos or status updates, these were publicly available to anyone on or off Facebook unless they manually...

    Read more
     
  2. JC713

    JC713 TS Evangelist Posts: 7,035   +914

    Finally. Long overdue.
     
  3. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 6,132   +1,527

    Why not select which group or audience you want to view the posting during the posting? Why must it be preset for all postings? You know sometimes there are comments only intended for specific groups. But not being able to select a group during posting, there is no option other than the preset.
     
  4. RH00D

    RH00D TS Addict Posts: 412   +106

    You can. oi62.tinypic.com/b51g6v.jpg

    You can create lists for friends then share with just them.
    You can also select from defaults like the usual "Friends", "Friends except Acquaintances" which "Acquaintances" is a default list you can add friends to, or "Public".

    You can also just choose "Custom" and choose to hide it from specific people/lists or do the inverse and make it visible only to specific people/lists.
     
    cliffordcooley likes this.
  5. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 6,132   +1,527



Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.