Fan broken on my video card

By GNS1310
Jun 1, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Well, not broken, just real loud, annoying, and sometimes it just stops. I have plenty of airflow in the case, just wondering how unsafe this is...will my video card overheat? I've been looking for new cards, I want a tv card as well...I have the cable next to the computer waiting to be plugged in!
    I also am looking at other monitors. I think I'm picking up a Samsung 2493HM 24"
    Any suggestions on video cards/tv cards and/or monitors???
    I dont have a PCIE slot...that I can see...so I think I have to stick to an AGP video card and a PCI tv card? I'd also like to hook up my old monitor and my new monitor to the same card and have both going at once. HELP!!
    I have pics of the inside and back of my tower...cant post them because I'm a 2-post newbie hehe
  2. GNS1310

GNS1310 TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 123

I have the tower open and the fan disconnected from the card...nice and quiet now, but is it safe?
  3. Ollie30001

Ollie30001 Newcomer, in training Posts: 170

well no its not a good idea to unplug the fan.

first off, what card is it?
  4. GNS1310

I'm pretty sure its a Radeon 9550..bought it years ago.
  5. mailpup

mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,390   +205

Yes, disconnecting the fan to get rid of the fan noise is a poor solution. Soon the card will be dead, but still quiet.
  6. GNS1310

Here's a few pics
    INSIDE:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    BACK:
    [​IMG]
    Here are the details:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  7. mailpup

Any budget for a replacement card? What country are you in?
  8. GNS1310

USA
    I was planning on spending $500 on a monitor (Samsung 2493HM 24"), maybe another $100-200 on each card. I saw a tv card for around $80 (Hauppauge) and video cards looked to be around $100. I'd certainly like to get the best that I can get. Thanks for the help!
  9. drawz

drawz Newcomer, in training Posts: 31