First build, need graphics help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, first post here. I am just starting out with my first computer build and have gotten a lot of parts and researched each one very heavily. But what I am getting stuck on is what my graphics card should be.

I would like to play some games on it etc, etc. But the main purpose of the computer is for photography, 2D design, etc. I have been looking at a more gaming graphics card, but wonder if a workstation card is more for my needs. I would rather get a gaming card for the speed in games, but if I need workstation for my line of work, I guess I will go for that.

I am currently running 2 19" monitors on my current computer and have a spare 15" I would like to make use of (I do some video editing too). So that would mean that I would like 2 cards or a x2 card.

Please help me in my decision between "workstation" or "gaming"

Thank you ahead of time for any help!

well i dont think you really need a workstation card for 2d design maybe if you were doing heavy 3d rendering but not 2d. we need to know a budget and what kinda MB you are looking at man i mean we could say oh two 9800gtx +s or two ati 4850 's but its really up to you. I would say that the 4850's would be great for 19' monitors will get good FPS in games and its a nice card.

Buy either a 4850 or a 4870 1gb version. There's no way you need a workstation card for photographs and 2d projects.

Unless he's gettin the 4870x2 i wouldnt go for it, He can get the 4870 1gb version which basically makes up that whole 4850x2.

I am currently running 2 19" monitors on my current computer and have a spare 15" I would like to make use of (I do some video editing too). So that would mean that I would like 2 cards or a x2 card.

So you need to power three monitors? Then i suppose you would need two cards.