First build, what to buy?

I am looking to build my first computer with a budget under $1000.

The PC will be used for some online gaming (newer Battlefield games and such, but nothing really serious), video editing and uploading to Youtube, editing music to be put into Youtube videos (I am a bit of a musician).

Budget again is under $1000.

I am located in Alabama.

I am willing to buy online, no problem.

Will reuse parts like my keyboard, speakers and mouse like stuff. Might keep my monitor, it's a HP Pavilion f1503 (tried to find a link but I guess they don't sell them anymore) Not sure if I need a new monitor or not, will it make a difference other than size?

I have not purchased anything as of yet.

Will probably have to purchase an operating system so that should be included in the budget, Windows 7 I am guessing?

Do not think I will need any aftermarket cooling system.

I have checked out the buying guides and I think I am somewhere between the Entry-Level Rig and the Enthusiast's PC. I want something that will be fast when uploading/rendering videos and things like that. I also would like to be playing some decent games in the future without major problems. I am not looking for the best graphics out there, just something to get me by and have the game run smoothly.

My experience with building computers is pretty low but I have replaced a few parts on computers over the years and I have watched alot of Youtube videos of computer builds lately. Also have spent alot of time reading the past 50 or so posts on this forum reguarding computer builds and reading here for the past few months.

Thank you all for your time and guidance.

Check out some of the existing threads. There's probably at least one per day looking for build advice, they have good info in them.

A possible option:
Intel Core i7-870 $284
Asus P7P55D-E Pro $179.99
Kingston 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1333 $69.99
GTX 460 1GB $220.99
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB $69.99
DVD-R burner $30