First Try building PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

the grip

My Dell Dimension 4300 died. I'm trying to build my first computer and want to make sure the items I have are what is needed and that they will not clash. I tried to be very thorough in reading up on each item, but I'm new at this and want to make sure before I mess up totally. I have the manuals on how to set it up and my son (who built his first computer at 13) said he will help if I get into trouble. I want to show him that even I can do this. Here's what I have....

New Case with Rosewell (Mercury) Powersupply 350W #LC-8360BTX
Mobo- ECS Elite Group Intel Socket 775 #GF7050VT-M
Graphics Card - Nivdia GeForce 7050 (610i) #MCP73V
CPU- Intel Pentium D Core 2 Duo 3ghz
HD - Western Digital Protege 40G 5400rpm 2mb buffer EIDE interface #WD400EB
Ram- Ultra Dual Channel 1G(2x512mb sticks) PC4200 DDR2 533mhz #ULT31694

I put all the model #'s at the end. Any reccommendations would be appreciated. I'm really excited to create my own computer. I just want everything to go smoothly, and your help and advise my be needed more before this is through.

Basic system...

That Western Digital drive should be 7200 rpms not 5400rpm. Why not go with a bigger drive like 250GB's. A gforce 8600 or 8800 would perform much better

Thank you I'll check into those. My son had the HD and said that I could have it, but maybe buying a bigger one is better.

If that powersupply is not enough would it not be able to power up? I put it together and figured once I got it running I would see about a new HD, but it will not power up.

Is this PC going to be used for watching movies, surfing the Net and nothing more? Or are you planning to run any video editing software or the latest games on it? Also, what would your total budget be?