Freezing trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moospammer

Hello there, as you can see, I'm new to the TechSpot forums, I was wondering if I could grab me some help.

I'm running a 2ish year old Windows Vista computer, running an ATI grapihcs card Readion 2400 HD, Intel Core 2 Duo and with 2gb of RAM.

I don't know quite how to get the information I've seen others giving out so I'll look that up shortly, but here is the basic symptom list.

Freezeing; The computer will freeze unpredictabley and when it does, the screen will stop, the mouse is unmovable and the last sound it made will be repeated very fast. For instance, if I just pulled a boss in the popular World of Warcraft (let's use XT) when he says something like "I DON'T WANNA'" and freezes it'll likley go "wannawannawannawannawannawannawannawannawannawannawanna" continualy. It doesn't matter what I'm doing when this happens, I could be browsing facebook, watching a video or killing my processor in an online MMO.

Sometimes it'll just unfreeze and continue playing within only 30 seconds, other times I'll walk away and go get a drink, etc and it'll still be frozen when I come back, so I usually emergency shut down (Hold the off-button in)

I virus scan often, the latest one turned up nothing (McAfee) as per, despite it scanning over a file named TROJAN (yeah, in caps.) and just passing it by. [You know how you can read the path of the file it's currently scanning? /system32/etc.]

My parents used to use this computer but passed it on to me when they got a laptop, so the remanants of old spyware and stuff I've gotten rid of to the best of my ability, but I'm not an expert, I only just finished my GCSE's.

Oh yeah, I have about 60gb on both of my harddrives free, so they're about 50% full. I de-fragment often, last one turned up 0% fragmentation on my second disk a small amount on my first. I use iObit's Smart RAM and Gamebooster to get the most out of my 2gb of RAM.