TechSpot

Got a nice new case, since moving hardware across: PROBLEMS!

By Bobo6564
Apr 3, 2010
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. windows 7 ultimate 64
    Amd 64 6000+
    4gigs ddr 800
    500gig and 250gig hdd
    gigabyte Mb
    dvd
    card reader
    Geforce 9800GTX
    500w psu

    ok so i bought a pretty new case for my pc
    Great!
    moved all my hard ware accross... fine
    everything booted fine, and in all pc has been running smoothly
    i did add a blue light inside the case, but I also mouned the switch on the front panel so the light can be turned on or off manually. (have a added Fan at the back too)

    been good for about a week, playing bat man Archham, Gears of war, Crysis, dead space, Mass effect 2

    as of tonight my pc just reboots when playing any games, some will load and play for a few min and some will have a problem right at the menu

    the Pc doesnt freez, no blue screen and no errors seem to be poping up
    just reboot and after i lose some of my gadgets and my backrounds,

    i have noticed a slight CRACKEL in the box.... i think its the psu, but its not constant some times it will do it and other time nothing.

    so is this my problem or is it something els???

    any help would be great.
    It really GRATES my bacon when my pc isnt running on top performance

    Thanks
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,142   +31

    What is the make of your psu and did this come with the case?
  3. Bobo6564

    Bobo6564 Banned Topic Starter Posts: 16

    its my psu from the old pc,
    its a Procase atx12v

    this is what my event viewer sayz


    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    Date: 2010-04-03 09:31:18 PM
    Event ID: 41
    Task Category: (63)
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: (2)
    User: SYSTEM
    Computer: PsychoSpazz-PC
    Description:
    The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns-----schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-04-03T19:31:18.049600000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>13471</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>PsychoSpazz-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
  4. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,142   +31

    I looked up your power supply Procase atx12v and honestly I never heard of them before. Many times this can be due to the fact that certain items/manufacturer's are geographically bound.

    Question: You tell us it is from your old case; did it come with the case or did you buy it separately?

    Since there is little information to make a solid recommendation, based on what we know it appears you issue is with the power supply.
  5. Bobo6564

    Bobo6564 Banned Topic Starter Posts: 16

    thanks for the help,
    the power supply did come with the old case,
    And it does seem to be the problem,
    I seem to have fixed the problem temporarly buy having each pice of hardware on its own dedicated plug, still get a slight crackel when to pc first boots, but seems to go away when the PSU has "warmed up" a little and since doing this no more crashes.

    But i thik ill still replace the psu when i have some spare cash, just to be safe

    Thanks again for the Help

    :)
  6. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,142   +31

    That is a very smart and true tested way of discovering where a problem lies. One thing we know here at TechSpot as well as other sites is that psu's that come with a case - there are a few exceptions - are garbage. Rarely do they supply what they claim.

    Do yourself a favor and get a Corsair PSU in the 550 to 650 range. They have a high reputation and decent pricing.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.