TechSpot

Graphics card and D-sub lead

By tessmax
Feb 21, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hi all tessmax here i want to put a graphics card in my pc,but i am unsure what to do with the d-sub lead?do i leave it were it is or connect it to the graphics card,my current graphics are on the motherboard,and i am new at this so dont want to mess up before i even get started,any advice would be welcome

2. FoReWoRd

FoReWoRd TS Rookie Posts: 238

plug the d-sub in the corresponding port of the graphics card, not the motherboard!

3. tessmax

tessmax TS Rookie Topic Starter

HI FoReWoRd,thanks for that,i know it might seem a daft question but i was just not sure,and did not want to do any damage,appreciate your help,,tessmax

4. FoReWoRd

it's ok man just contact me if you have more problems...

5. tessmax

thanks FoReWoRd, I do have have another concern you may be able to help me with,do i do anything about the onboard graphic,s when i move to a graphic's card,hopeing to get one this week,,was thinking a 256mb? i have two slots a pci slot and a agp slot any difference which i use?,but like i say my real concern is what i do (if anything) about the onboard graphic's when i change,i know sometimes things can conflict so any idea's you have would be welcome,,thanks tessmax

6. FoReWoRd

im a little unclear on the details of the problem, but i think you want a buy a new card, preferably you should use the agp slot, i would reccomend this for DX10 if you plan to upgrade to vista(slowest): http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...ATI Radeon HD 3650 512MB AGP ?productId=33233
    this if you have a higher budget(Best perf out of the 3): http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-173-SP&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=403