TechSpot

Guide to video card upgrades/questions

By cfitzarl
Dec 29, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FusilliJerry82

    FusilliJerry82 TS Rookie Posts: 97

    7GB of RAM? Odd.

    Anyway, without knowing the brand and model, unless its a slimline model or HTPC type setup, a pretty safe bet would be an ATI HD 4670. Very low power requirements, fairly good performance, not too much money.
  2. solnovi

    solnovi TS Rookie

    I agree I thought 7gb of Ram was odd too, but I figured since it was a 64 bit system it could utilize the higher memory, and I thought it sounded like a good starting point to build a decent gaming machine. I apologize for the lack of info.

    It is an HP Pavilion:
    300w stock PSU 8(

    Model Information
    Model Name a6763w
    Total Physical Memory 7.00 GB

    Display
    HP w2207 (HP w2207 Wide LCD Monitor)
    Mode 1680 x 1050 (32-bit) (60 Hz)
  3. FusilliJerry82

    FusilliJerry82 TS Rookie Posts: 97

    Only thing about 7GB of RAM is its probably not dual or triple channel (depending on the type motherboard, I didn't look up specs). What stick configuration is all that?

    Anyway, an HD 4670 would be a good choice. It doesn't require an extra power connection either.
  4. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    For 1680x1050, an HD 4670 will not cut it. I recommend an HD 4850 and an Antec Earthwatts EA430 or Corsair 400CX PSU (whichever is cheaper).
  5. FoReWoRd

    FoReWoRd TS Rookie Posts: 238

    4830 should cut it as wow is not heavily gpu limited
  6. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Well to put it in this members words:
    He was replying to some poor soul called Will_m
    Anyway a lot users tend to update update update
    Not sure why, I'm extremely happy with what I've got

    The way I look at it is if it works why bother. Personally I say waste of money, that's for sure ;)
  7. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    WoW is not the only game he mentioned. Oblivion will need more power at that resolution to run smoothly with all the image quality options maxed out.
  8. FoReWoRd

    FoReWoRd TS Rookie Posts: 238

    oblivion actually runs fine maxxed out no AA on my HD3650m so a 4830 might be ok for his resolution, or you could buy an 9800gt for as little as £90 which is not bad
  9. FusilliJerry82

    FusilliJerry82 TS Rookie Posts: 97

    A 4670 is better than a 3850 and it doesn't require a PCIe power connection.
  10. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    Because of the greater bandwidth, the HD 3850 performs a lot better at higher resolutions (AA notwithstanding). Other than that they perform on par, with the HD 4670 usually taking the lead and being better when it comes to power consumption and heat output. Also, the HD 4670's lead becomes even larger when you enable AA, due to the broken AA implementation on the HD 38xx cards.
  11. redk

    redk TS Rookie Posts: 135

    The 4670 also scales well in overclocking, in some cases even surpassing the 8800GT.
     
  12. solnovi

    solnovi TS Rookie

    Thanks for the info guys. I have decided after much research to go with this card. HIS Hightech H467QT512P Radeon HD 4670 IceQ Turbo 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card. It appears to be exactly what I am looking for as far as performance, noise, heat, and cost, without having to also install a new PSU.
  13. kinkyvinyl

    kinkyvinyl TS Rookie

    Second Life query

    Hi guys

    Firstly I'm sorry if I've put this query in the wrong section but I'm new, not to mention blonde so ...... apologies lol

    My query is that I would like to play Second Life on my PC and I am struggling to meet the system requirements of the game.

    This is what is required:

    Cable or DSL

    Operating System: XP, or Vista XP or Vista

    Computer Processor: 800 MHz Pentium III or Athlon, or better 1.5 GHz (XP), 2-GHz (Vista) 32-bit (x86) or better

    Computer Memory: 512 MB or more 1 GB or more

    Screen Resolution: 1024x768 pixels 1024x768 pixels or higher

    Graphics Card for XP**: NVIDIA GeForce 2, GeForce 4 MX or better
    OR ATI Radeon 8500, 9250 or better
    OR Intel 945 chipset
    NVIDIA Graphics cards
    6000 Series:
    6600, 6700, 6800
    7000 Series:
    7600, 7800, 7900
    8000 Series:
    8500, 8600, 8800
    GeForce Go Series:
    7600, 7800, 7900
    ATI Graphics Cards

    X800, X900, X1600, X1700, X1800, X1900
    x2600, x2900
    x3650, x3850



    and this is what I have:

    Packard Bell Intel (R)
    Celeron (R) CPU 2.80GHz
    2.79GHz, 448 MB of RAM

    SIS650 Graphics card
    Chip Type 651 Rev00 64.0


    I have adjusted the virtual settings within my pc and now have memory of 1024mb which cover the problem from that end, does it not? However, is the problem I have to overcome now, the graphics card etc?

    Is this all 'do-able' by free downloads etc?

    Or am I wasting my time? :eek:(

    Thanks for reading all this and look forward to someone being able to help

    Kinks x
  14. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    Hi kinkyvinyl (cool name BTW), :wave:Welcome to TechSpot!:wave:

    As for your query, nope, you will need some new hardware, specifically a new graphics card.
  15. Niezam

    Niezam TS Rookie

    Hi, i have a question about video card.
    Currently, i have installed a game called Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock
    After the installation, the game wont start because it said :
    "This game does not support your video card"
    Please check the system requirement.

    Then i check it, it require;
    (i) PC Minimum System Requirements

    Operating System: Windows XP (Service Pack 2), Windows Vista

    CPU: Intel Pentium D (Dual-core) 2.8 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3500+

    Memory: XP - 1 GB RAM, Vista – 2 GB RAM

    Hard Drive: 5.1 GB free hard drive space + 1 GB Swap File

    Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible sound card

    Video Card: 3D Hardware Accelerator Card Required – 100% DirectX 9.0c compatible 128 MB Video Memory (see supported list)

    Video Card (ATI): Radeon X800

    Video Card (Nvidia): Geforce 7600

    Disc Drive: 4x DVD-ROM drive required to install and play

    Internet: Online multiplayer (Internet TCP/IP) requires a broadband connection

    Peripherals: Windows 2000/XP compatible mouse and keyboard with the latest drivers, Guitar Hero 3 Official PC Guitar Controller

    But then i check my video card through dxdiag:

    Operating system : Windows vista
    System Model : Acer Aspire 4920
    Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750@2.00GHz
    Memory: 3062MB RAM
    Display Adapter: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
    Approx total memory : 358 MB

    So, according to my video card, it should be better then the minimum requirement.
    Why i cant still play it? or do i have to install a new video card?
  16. treetops

    treetops TS Evangelist Posts: 1,668   +58

    Hey I came to this sticky looking for a explanation on how to use 2x video card, whats necessary etc. You might want to include that in the original post.
  17. haunsolo

    haunsolo TS Rookie

    where in heck can I get a graphices card for my t1801 emachine pc?
  18. FusilliJerry82

    FusilliJerry82 TS Rookie Posts: 97

    It's not better. Intel onboard graphics are horrible. You're probably gonna have to get a new card.
  19. Genesis09

    Genesis09 TS Rookie

    Usually integrated graphics cards are pretty bad :/
  20. magemofo

    magemofo TS Rookie Posts: 23

    Hi everyone! I'm very new to the whole computer hardware thing, so I have a couple questions.

    I want to play World of Warcraft, I'm currently playing it with about 3-5fps on my integrated graphics card which is just awful. Can you guys recommend a good video card to play WoW at around 20-25fps?

    Here's my system specs from dxdiag, I have no idea what's useful and what's not, so I'll just post most of it. Also, I have a PCI slot comp, so I know that hampers my gameplay and card choice severely.

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 7/6/2009, 10:25:29
    Machine name: E58AEB3F9A6342E
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.090206-1233)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: HP Pavilion 061
    System Model: RC658AA-ABA a1630n
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
    Memory: 1982MB RAM
    Page File: 1076MB used, 2798MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Music Tab: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.
    Network Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (n/a)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce 6150 LE
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0241&SUBSYS_2A34103C&REV_A2
    Display Memory: 256.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.8208 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 5/9/2006 11:50:00, 3955200 bytes


    Thanks for the help!
  21. ahal

    ahal TS Rookie Posts: 70

  22. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    @magemofo, you have a PCI-Express slot free, and can buy any PCI-E card you wish to. You may need to upgrade your PSU for a more powerful card though. The HD 4670 is a decent card that does not need a power connector (and hence eliminates the need for you to buy a new PSU) and can perform well at any resolution upto 1440x900

    For more information, here is a link to your motherboard specs. You do have an HP dekstop right?
  23. Tha General

    Tha General TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,225

    Hey guys i have made a decision. I am going to keep to my word and not move on to pcie cards until pci cards officially die or it seems like it has die for good. So i plan to use PCI cards for the next few years to come. My next card to buy: Not really sure, most likely its going to be the albatron 8600gt. or whatever i see first when i go video card shopping.

    Yea forget pcie cards right now, when pci official die for good, then i will move on.

    peace
  24. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,895   +88

    As long as your playing Amber....your good :)
  25. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    PCI video cards died out long ago. You're just in denial of that fact.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.