Hard drive making noise

Status
Not open for further replies.
At imes when im using my computer my hard drive makes this squeaking noise ..im not good at hard ware so i need advice on this thank you

Squeaking is likely a sign of failure. Back your essential data up as soon as possible and consider returning the drive or buying a new one.

Maybe describe the noise a bit more.. It may be a part of the drive's normal self check routine.

If in doubt, test the drive with the manufacturer-provided diagnostics utility.

If it is a clicking noise - that's a classic sign of a failing drive. I would still backup to another drive. New drives can fail too.

Yep, thats very typical of a failing hd (assuming this is a new sound and not one its always made).

Run one of the drive diagnostic tools to start the RMA process (if warrantied still) that drive is basically 'dead man walking' you just don't know at what point in the hallway its at right now.

How to tell...

Mkayemba said:
At imes when im using my computer my hard drive makes this squeaking noise ..im not good at hard ware so i need advice on this thank you

If you hear clunk, clunk sound which is loud, that means the HDD is going to fail very soon. Backup the HDD (like you did was a smart move)

If you hear squeak, squeak (like a hamster is running on a wheel in the cage), that means the HDD is badly fragmented. Even if you defrag it you might still hear that sound as the heads and disc inside is started to wear out after the drive has been so overlooked with heavy fragmentation.

On step everyone forgets to think about the screws holding down the HDD could get loose also, thus causing the HDD to move and shift.

Sometime these HDD do go bad without warning or if you look at your Event View it will let you know that HDD D had an error in read/write stuff like that.

tipstir said:
If you hear squeak, squeak (like a hamster is running on a wheel in the cage), that means the HDD is badly fragmented.