Hard Drive recovery problems/questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I am new to the this message board and am looking for solutions or advice in recovering data from a crashed laptop's hard drive. Here is where I'm at currently:

My laptop will no longer boot (as it has done before) and last time I encountered this problem, I went to BestBuy and bought the RocketFish hard drive enclosure kit. I was able to remove the HD from my laptop and use the enclosure kit to successfully recover all files and put them on a different computer. Then I put the HD back into the crashed laptop and reformatted the drive, problem solved.

This time around, I am going through the same process but when I try to access the drive I am unable to do so. I have the RocketFish enclosure with the crashed laptop's HD in the enclosure and connected to another laptop to extract the files I wish to recover before I reformat the HD. I try to access the files by going to "My Computer" and then clicking on "Local Disk (E:)". I then try to click on "My Documents" and get the following message: E:\My Documents is not accessible. Incorrect function".

Anyone encounter the same trouble or issue? Any advice on how to access these files I need to recover? Also, is there anyway I can use the Windows recovery disks to fix or reformat this drive without erasing all the files? Thank you for your help!

Hello KP... A few questions for you...
1. "Will no longer boot" - What does this mean exactly?
2. You recovered files, reformatted and reused the old drive before...
Did you use chkdsk, or other drive utilities to check for and repair errors?
What was the nature of the previous failure? (Malware? Hardware Failure? Something else?)
3. It sounds like "Explorer/File Manager" can see your "E drive", but cannot navigate to the "My Documents" folder/subdirectory of the "E drive"?