Hard drive suddenly undetected by bios

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all. I'm a newbie so please don't pounce on me for repeating a topic. I have read through similar ones here and on other sites and have gained no help or direction. Well, here goes.

My problem is with a relatively old drive; a 20gb seagate. i removed it when cleaning the case and when i reconnected it, it could not be detected. The jumpers are correctly positioned and all cables are secure. In my cleaning I simply ran a hair dryer through the board and wiped the housings for the drive. I tested the system with a seagate 120gb and that is detected with no problems. the 20gb isn't detected by the bios or as a slave to the 120gb. There are no tell tale signs of a mechanical fault - no strange sounds or anything else out of the ordinary. my issue isn't so much replacing the drive(it is time 4 a system upgrade after all) as it is recovery of the past 3 weeks of work that has not been backed up! it would take me 3 weeks to get through it again. lol!

please help guys!!

i forgot to add, the drive is powering up normally. also, the system seems to take a long time to start up, almost as if it were trying to detect the drive.. but alas... still nothing..

You first need to verify whether or not Windows detects anything (sometimes it sees something on the usb port but doesn't know what it is)

You need look in Device Manager to see if it lists any Unknown Devices. Be sure to expand the USB info in Device Manager when looking.

Don't know if you're running XP or other (what are you running?) but here's a link about Unknown Devices under XP