TechSpot

Having a BSOD

By Apophis2034
Sep 2, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. Hi I recently started getting a BSOD it seems to happen when doing anything from searching the net to playing video games It just started after I had to Reinstall Windows 7 to my PC after someone accidentally downloaded a virus. I'll post the crash info below for anyone that wants to help. Also I tried to upload the Minidump file but it wouldn't work for me if there is something I have to do to upload them properly please let me know. Thank you.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name:BlueScreen
    OS Version:6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID:1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode:124
    BCP1:0000000000000000
    BCP2:FFFFFA8005AFE028
    BCP3:00000000B67A4000
    BCP4:0000000000000175
    OS Version:6_1_7601
    Service Pack:1_0
    Product:768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\082912-26988-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Nero\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-39842-0.sysdata.xml
     
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Go here: C:\Windows\Minidump\082912-26988-01.dmp and select all the files with a .dmp extension. Right-click and send them to a compressed(zipped)folder. Upload that folder here
     
  3. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Ty Tmagic I recently used CClean so I think it erased my Minidump so I'm just waiting for another BSOD and I'll upload the Minidump then. But I uninstalled game Booster hoping that it was the culprit shutting off something that didn't need to be shut off. and I haven't had a BSOD in 2 days now so I guess we will see lol.
     
  4. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Okay thanks for the update:)
     
  5. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Here is the Latest Dump file I just had a BSOD thanks for hangin in here with me.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Did you format the hard drive before you re-installed Windows 7?
    The minidump shows:
    HAL.dll with no Bug Check string and Ntoskrnl.exe. These are not much help
     
  7. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    When I re installed it I chose to Format and install and what I had to do to reinstall is first install XP because I have the Windows 7 Upgrade version would that be a problem?
     
  8. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

  9. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    So do you think the issue is because of the way 7 was installed?
     
  10. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    As much as I hate the thought I will reinstall if I need to if that will solve my problems.
     
  11. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Did you do a "custom" Windows 7 install or an "upgrade" install over Windows XP? It has been around 2009 since I used my Windows 7 Pro upgrade disk over XP. Print out those instructions I posted. They will come in handy :)
     
     
  12. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    I dont think it was a custom one just the recommended Install or whatever the default install is called.
     
  13. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    The default is "upgrade"... So re-install by using "custom" and deleting the existing partition. Install Windows 7 normally. Sometimes when you get to the point of adding the KEY, it may say "invalid" key. Just clear the key window and continue the Windows 7 install. If you can't activate over the Internet, follow my posted instructions. and restart. Retry the activation. It will ask you to enter a KEY, then all should be good.
     
  14. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Ok I'll try reinstalling it tonight then and see what happens hopefully this will have been the issue all along and I wont have to put it in a repair shop lol.
     
  15. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Okay we hope everything goes well too;)
     
  16. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Well its all freshly installed and everything went smoothly I did that activation like the site said and it went through without a problem. So now I guess we wait and see if the blue screen is gone for good or not lol. And Thank you for all the help you've given me it has most likely saved me a hefty repair bill lol.
     
  17. ImaBrokeDude

    ImaBrokeDude TS Member Posts: 41

    You CANNOT use an upgrade install from XP to 7, you MST perform a FULL install with data migration.
     
  18. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    I just installed it without XP I formated the drive completely and used my 7 disc to install and then used the info on the site Tmagic recommended and it seems to be working fine now. What do you mean by data migration?
     
  19. ImaBrokeDude

    ImaBrokeDude TS Member Posts: 41

    I meant, you would back up any personal data, then completely format you drive and do a fresh install then move the files back onto the hard drive.

    You did it correctly. :)

    There are some rules to know when it comes to upgrading your Windows Operating system.
     
  20. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Ah right yea I know a little bit but on more in depth things like this I'm not as informed as I would like lol.
     
  21. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Good work Apophis2034,
    Glad everything went well :)
     
  22. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Everything seems to be running smoothly sofar. though I am curious is it normal to sometimes hear my sound glitch? it mostly happens when I'm installing something it sounds almost like the sound card freezes for just a second then goes back to normal.
     
  23. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Well I have noticed that once or twice on my system too...
     
  24. Apophis2034

    Apophis2034 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Well two days of playing Guild Wars 2 and not a blue screen in sight so it looks like the reinstall worked :) Thanks for all your help Tmagic your awesome man.
     
  25. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,981   +168

    Okay, good :)
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.