Help! Anyone have issues with HP 5150 printers??

Status
Not open for further replies.

neil_ski

Hello all
I have an HP 5150 printer. It prints letter paper ok, and 4x6 photo paper OK, but now it's chewing up my Premium photo paper. When it loads it in, it seems like it's not pulling it straight in. The printer jams, and it crumples up the top right corner of the paper.
This is frustrating! I can't see any obvious issues. HP tech support is useless, and they wanted to charge me $30 to help! They did offer me a deal on an upgrade printer. So the expensive ink I buy isn't good enough to get their support?

Anyone have this issue? It's about 2+ years old. I'd appreciate some advice. I'm an electro tech and I'm tempted to take it apart.

You sure that the Premium photo paper is compatible with your printer? Anyway, I doubt HP support can help you with printers. Printer problems are tough to solve. They'll just ask you to restart the printer and hope for the best.

And yes they charge WAY too much for the stupid ink.

Check the pick up wheels they might be worn this can cause the paper to feed incorrectly.
They are probably slipping on the photo paper.

I have the HP1210 all-in-one printer, besides the driver being a piece of sh!t, which interfers with half of my other software, these printer really don't like anyone else's paper but HP!!! I had quality letter paper and nothing but jamming, and was about to throw the fringin through the wall! Finally put some HP paper in it, no probs since. Same with HP photo paper works fine.

Cheers,

gary_hendricks said:
You sure that the Premium photo paper is compatible with your printer? Anyway, I doubt HP support can help you with printers. Printer problems are tough to solve. They'll just ask you to restart the printer and hope for the best.

And yes they charge WAY too much for the stupid ink.

Yea it's HP paper I've used before. It also ate some premium plus paper.