Help building a Computer, I'm a Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a Dell Dimension 3000 and it sucks for gaming, and I like to play MMORPGS. So I figured out that my graphics card is integrated and what not, and its only PCI (whatever that is) and I would have to replace the motherboard and all this other junk to get a compatible graphics card. I just want to build a brand new gaming computer for a budget of 700-900$ at the most. I'm a Senior in High School and im just working part time, so I'm trying to save my money.

I tried going to websites like Newegg, and tigerdirect to try and build my own, but I'm just a little too weak when it comes to this, I need your guys' computer expertise.

I do know that I want:

A good enough graphics card to play the latest MMORPGS.
I think 2g ram would be nice correct?
I heard good things about the AMD 64x system, I really have no clue.

I'm really sorry for the long post, I just have been very frustrated with this computer for years. As you can tell, I don't know much about computers or the deal with your computer overheating, cooling and all that stuff. I need help really bad and was just wondering if someone could help me build a computer with the budget above.

Thank you so much for your time.

Go to TimeParadoX's post that is just above your post and read Rage's suggestions (the man is very helpful). If you still need help just let us know.

A few suggestions:

1. Don't go cheap on the power supply. Too many people spend big $ on other harddware with the psu as an after thought. That is wrong.

2. You can get some great deals on AMD X2 chips and the motherboards, but right now Intel is blazing hot with their offerings and performance. Though the quad Phenoms by AMD are nice.

3. Don't go cheap on the case. NewEgg has great deals on a daily basis.