Help overclocking RAM & CPU and finding best compromise

By deeps1987
Nov 29, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hey all,
    I'm pretty new to overclocking, but i know the basics, i have only ever overclocked my CPU, not my RAM to match, which I'm assuming hits performance, I'm hoping to change that with your help :D

    Basic Specs:
    Intel Quad Core Q6600 G0 @ 3.96Ghz (440 X 9) (Watercooled)
    OCZ Reaper 8500 1066Mhz (4 X 1GB Sticks) with additional cooling
    ASUS Blitz Forumlar DDR2 P35 (Watercooled)

    iv heard that quad cores use more bandwidth, so a higher FSB is preferable, so I'm thinking of trying (500 X 8) giving me a CPU speed of 4Ghz

    but now it gets confusing with the RAM, do i got for all out max Mhz or tighter timings? or compromise with both?

    any ideas or suggestions, i don't mind loosing some of my CPU speed if it
    increases overall performance, i just want the CPU and RAM to work well together, i dont mind underclocking/overclocking either

    Thanks in advance
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,451   +135

  3. deeps1987

    deeps1987 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 135

    thanks for that, iv been browsing through, but most of the guides seem to be really out of date, and i was hoping to get advice for my particular hardware setup.
  4. kirock

    kirock Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,598

    whats the speed of the ddr p35? 1066 ? I'm too laz to look it up
  5. deeps1987

    deeps1987 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 135

    hey yeah at stock its 1066Mhz

    but heres a screenshot of it when its overclocked and running a 4Ghz CPU

    [​IMG]
  6. kirock

    kirock Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,598

    So you have an fsb of 1780, hmm at 1066 you're way OCing the Ram. Shouldn't you be running DDR3-1800 or 3/5 ram ratio?
  7. deeps1987

    deeps1987 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 135

    at the 1780 FSB my RAM is still running at 1066Mhz, with a 5:6 ratio

    [​IMG]

    i cant afford DDR3 :(
  8. kirock

    kirock Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,598

    Ok so maybe you could help me understand this better.
    You have an fsb of 445, so quad pumped databus gives 4X445=1780 resultant fsb. Now what I thought I understood was ram is rated at maximum input freq, so DDR2-1066 should be sitting on a resultant fsb of 1066, which is 1066/4 = a core fsb of 266.

    But what you're saying is 1066 is (by DDR) really 1066/2=533 core fsb, so that 533X4=2132 resultant fsb. So you're running 1780, well within 2132 max? But then why bother using 5/6 ratio?
  9. mica3speedy

    mica3speedy Newcomer, in training Posts: 205

    what kind of motherboard are you using? Some have an option to unlink the cpu and ram. That way you can overclock the cpu without over clocking the ram to start out with.
  10. deeps1987

    deeps1987 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 135


    yeah that is my current overclock, but i want to get my CPU to run at ~500FSB with X8 Multiplier, and iv read that keeping memory at a 1:1 ration with the FSB is best, so i dont mind lowing my FSB a bit to bring my RAM inline.
    I had to use the ratio because my CPU is running at 445FSB and RAM at 528FSB. (it was be ~500FSB)
    i think 500FSB is the highest my Motherboard can take, and my RAM can overclock too 1200Mhz, or so iv heard, so any recommendations?
    Is a FSB:RAM ratio of 1:1 best?
    Is a higher RAM speed better than tighter timings?

    its a ASUS Blitz Forumlar DDR2 P35 and i want to overclock/underclock my RAM to get the best out of my system as a whole.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.