Help! Possible virus, all logs attached

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello-

I'm a newbie; found you folks vie googling when things went south. It's obvious you know your stuff... so:

I followed all of Howard's instructions at https://www.techspot.com/community/...lware-removal-preliminary-instructions.58138/. Logs are attached.

Any help would be appreciated- I'm not even sure what went wrong, and am not sure now if I have a keylogger or something, particularly because of the mystery FAD.sys that was found but does not scan as a virus. Other files often associated w/FAD.sys I cannot find on my system... so I don't know what to think.

Thanks for any help!

Neil

Details:
I run symantec firewall & antivirus, always updated, always have windows updates, etc- pretty paranoid. But:

No problems before I tried this update. But I had been surfing/working/email etc for hours before trying to update, so it's possible this is not just a microsoft glitch.

After trying Microsoft update Tue, the update failed- while searching for my updates, the system would freeze. Tried again. Failed again. Each time, due to some svchost.exe process eating up 100% processor time. Deleting that process restored things to working, but it got worse- couldn't do the update, then it started just happening when I rebooted, even if I just used Firefox. Deleting the svchost process that was eating the 100% always solved things.

When svchost was going nuts, it read (using command/tasklist /svc):
svchost.exe process #200 “services” are” Audiosrv, Browser, Cryptsvc, Dhcp, EventSystem, helpsvc, lanmanserver, lanmanworkstation, Netman, NLA, RasMan, Schedule, seclogon, SENS, SharedAccess, ShellHWDetection, srservice, TapiSrv, Themes, TrkWks, W32Time, winmgmt, wscsvc, wuauserv.

After killing that process, it would restart (without using too much bandwidth); then it would read:
svchost.exe proc #2204 “services” are “EventSystem, helpsvc, RasMan, Schedule, SENS, TapiSrv, Themes, winmgmt