Help with me formatting please~~

Status
Not open for further replies.
First of all, im sure there are many similar thread out there and im sorry for asking over and over again. But its kind of messy out there im not sure where i should go and my internet is really slow so i guess making my own thread is the easiest way to do this.

I've got an Acer TravelMate 8100 laptop that i want to format it because it is really slow and buggy now. I'm a total newbie at this kind of stuff so i would appreciate it if anyone can give me a step by step ***** proof guide please. And all those drive installing and card installing stuff i read from other threads, how do i do them?

This is all I've got:
-My laptop lol
-Windows XP Professional CD original(my sis's)
-Windows XP Pro, Acer incorporated Product Key pasted on the btm of my laptop
-1 Acer CD: System CD Rev3.0
-2 Acer CD: Recovery CD(disc1 and 2)

Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this? Right from the start, how do i even go to the formatting page lol.. What other CDs do i need? I've got a portable harddisk i use to backup my stuff already too and btw, if my com have virus and i copied my games, MVs, projects over to my portable harddisk, will it be like polluted with virus? then when i copy the files back onto my laptop, will my laptop be full of them again.

Please if there is any other info u need just tell me where i can find them and i'll try to find it. Someone help me please ^^.

Hello! Sounds you've got everything backed up, so you're ready to get to reformatting. The XP cd makes this pretty easy. Disconnect any external drives. First, insert the CD into the CD drive so it boots with it inside. If CD booting is enabled, it should say "press any key to boot from the CD..." Press any key to do so (and you can ignore the next paragraph). If it boots to Windows XP like usual, follow these instructions to change the boot device priority.