How do you set a MacBook to be shared on a home network?

By kgk123456
Mar 10, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I can view shared files from my PC's on my mac but how do I see shared items on my Mac from a Pc? Is it possible w/o any additional software?
  2. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,029   +222

    OH YES! :) [edit] OS X 10.3.* ie: Panther [/edit]

    You need the WORKGROUP name that is used by the PCs
    (and if you have more than one PC on the LAN, then they all must be the same;
    I'll assume you have PC Print/File sharing working already -- if not please confess promptly :) )

    With the PCs sharing, those firewalls are also setup correctly too.

    On the Mac; use the Apple Menu (far left on the menu bar) -> About this Mac
    report the Version of Mac OS X​
    Set the workgroup name on the MAC to be identical to the PC(Lan) systems
    open the system HD
    open Applications; Open Utilities
    Launch Directory Access
    At the bottom is [ ] SMB; click once and then click the Configure Button
    In the text box, enter the PC workgroup name; click ok and CLOSE the window

    Enable File sharing
    by using the Apple Menu again ->System Preferences
    Under Internet & Network ->Sharing; click the Services tab
    now click [ ] for Personal File sharing, Windows File Sharing and at the bottom, Print Sharing

    Test your results
    On the PC; open View Entire network (click on the Folders Icon )
    open MS Windows Network; this will show [+] YourWorkGroupName
    Opening that will then list the Systems that are online at this moment.

    Accessing files resident on the Mac
    The easy way is to use an identical login name on both the PC and the Mac.
    You can get there in two ways:
    1. double clicking the Mac System name shown under the Workgroup Name
    2. mapping a network drive

    Accessing files resident on the PC
    Use the GO menu; pull down to Connect To Server; enter
    • smb://ipaddress/ShareName/
    • smb://pcname/ShareName/

    (names don't always work )

    you will get a prompt for the User/Password owning the Sharename
  3. kgk123456

    kgk123456 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 20

    Thanks for the quick and through response!
    I will try this asap.
  4. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,267   +217

    Not sure its as complicated anymore with Leopard, which you are likely running.

    Apple Menu -> System Preferences -> Sharing
    Check the File Sharing tick box.
    Click the Plus button to add a directory to share.
    Click the Plus Button to add a user, or change the permissions of users already listed.
    Click Options... Ensure "Share files and folders using SMB" is checked, and that the account is listed.

    Then your Mac should show up in the network, it does in Vista. I don't think I had to do anything about a Workgroup. I remember needing to do that in Tiger, but I don't believe I've done that for Leopard. IF it doesn't show up, you should still be able to get to it by the local IP.
  5. kgk123456

    kgk123456 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 20

    Yeah I have leapored
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,029   +222

    OS X code names

    Code:
    10.0	Cheetah	March 2001
    10.1	Puma	September 2001
    10.2	Jaguar	August 2002
    10.3	Panther	October 2003
    10.4	Tiger	April 2005
    10.5	Leopard	October 2007
    10.6	Snow Leopard	(Est) Q1 2009
    Original Post was relative to Panther and has been so annotated :)
  7. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,267   +217

    Turns out, Leopard will default to 'WORKGROUP'. To change it to your workgroup if you use a different name you need to go to System Preferences -> Network, then click on Advanced... Then the WINS tab. By default there is nothing entered for Workgroup, but in reality a Windows machine will (or rather should) see the Mac in the WORKGROUP workgroup. You can change it to what you want there, and then hit Ok and then Apply. And it doesn't even need a reboot :)
  8. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,029   +222

    I did some experiments with the workgroup name from the Mac side.

    Given a workgroup name on the windows side, Mac OS X can access any resource
    on Windows (assuming User/Password can be given correctly)
    using any name you like, even one that does not exist
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.