How exactly do I put my HDD in another computer so I can retrieve my files?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My software crashed but Best Buy said my hard drive\files are fine, so I would like to retrieve them before I reinstall the software so I don't lose everything.
I have never done this before so if anyone can please explain to me exactly how this is done or refer me to a site tutorial it would be much appreciated!
Also, I have a Toshiba a-65 laptop....Does it have to be another Toshiba I put the hdd into or can I do it in any computer?

Thank you so much for any help you can offer :)

Not difficult at all, Snowbunny...

Hi there! :wave:

First, you will need to buy a 21/2 inch to IDE adapter. This can be found for from 9.00 - 50.00 USD at stores like compusa.com and on-line. It will consist of a standard (fits all) laptop-drive connector and an interface for a desktop (IDE) hard drive. You may have to remove the laptop manufacturer's connector, if it has an unusual configuration. These come apart quite easily and go back on just as easily. But, be GENTLE!, and remember to remove power, battery and memory, in that order, from the laptop.

Second, you will need access to a working desktop computer with at least one IDE connection available. You can use a Primary or Secondary IDE channel; ie., you can use either connections usually used for HDD's or CD drives. If necessary, you can temporarily disconnect one CD drive in the working desktop. I recommend disconnecting all Secondary IDE Channel devices in the desktop (this avoids worrying about 'master/slave' configurations on the laptop drive you will connect to the desktop.

Third, simply connect the 21/2 inch laptop drive to the Adapter and connect that to the desktop motherboard as though it were a normal desktop HDD.