How good is my PC for gaming?

By Rollie2010
Jan 9, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I’m curious about how good my system is as a gaming pc. The specs are below.

    AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core
    3 GB Ram
    XFX 8800 GS
    350 Watt PSU
    3 Fans (keeps my system at about 48 degress celcius when gaming for long sessions)
    740 gigs worth of HDD
    32-bit Vista Home Premium

    What are some cheap things I can do to improve my system? I was thinking my PSU is too small and maybe affecting my system’s performance?

    *Currently I'm playing Fallout 3 on High with no problems, I am able to run CSS and TF2 with no problem also*
  2. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    PSUs only affect performance by causing BSODs, crashes or spontaneous restarts. A good-quality 350W PSU will power that system easily, so unless the PSU is of so-so quality, I wouldn't be worried. Giving us the brand and model will help us judge better. Also, what resolution do you game at?

    The best thing to improve gaming perfomance on your current PC is to get a new video card. Next comes a faster HDD.
  3. omegafate

    omegafate Newcomer, in training Posts: 117

    hmm


    u should try wat rage said

    but i my self would recommend a 500 watt for starters just to see if it works out for u

    but also id look in to current drivers for your hardware for shits and kicks to see if that would work to
  4. Rollie2010

    Rollie2010 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 17

    I play at 1440x900. It all runs fine. I updated my driver on my gfx card. What else can I update on?
  5. omegafate

    omegafate Newcomer, in training Posts: 117

    sata/ide drivers and any other mobo drivers

    never know

    u might also wanna try

    1024 by 768

    or

    1152 by 864

    it might not look as good but it'll improve on performance a lil
  6. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    A new video card would mean a new PSU. So better look into that before you buy your next card.

    @omegafate, do you mean firmware? Yes, a firmware upgrade would be good.
  7. Rollie2010

    Rollie2010 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 17

    I know how to do the basic driver updates. How do I go about firmware updates?
  8. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Firmware upgrades are similar to driver updates. You just download the installer, let it run and reboot if required. But firmware upgrades are permanent and do not need to be done even if you use that particular component in another system, unless there's another firmware upgrade available.
  9. omegafate

    omegafate Newcomer, in training Posts: 117

    lol yea kinda forgot the terminology lol
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.