How to share File between WIN2000 and RH9?

Status
Not open for further replies.

novkhan

Goodday!

I have 2 PCs.
1 is a Redhat 9 ,
1 is a Window 2000.

I am a newbie to Linux so can any kind soul Explain in detail
how to get this 2 PC to share files!

Thankyou!

If you have dual boot then you can install a linux filesystem driver in windows, use a FAT32 partition to transfer files and enable NTFS support in linux kernel.

If you want to do it over the network then you have to configure Samba in RedHat.

On win2k box, share a directory, like c:\data.

On Linux box, just use mount -t smbfs if smbfs is compiled into the system (if I remember correctly, it should be an option in RH9).

Do man smbmount to see the details, I'm not running Linux at the moment so I can't check.

It's something like mount -t smbfs -o user=user, password=pass //win2kpcsname/data /mountpoint

Originally posted by OS samurai
do you want to share files over a network or just on a local machine? e.g in a dual boot setup?

Network!!
Coz i have 2 PC at Home.
Small little home LAN.

Originally posted by Nodsu
If you have dual boot then you can install a linux filesystem driver in windows, use a FAT32 partition to transfer files and enable NTFS support in linux kernel.

If you want to do it over the network then you have to configure Samba in RedHat.

Can i use VNC between 2000 and RH9?

It would be easier if that is possible,

How to, if possible?

You can VNC between Windows and Linux. You have to install vnc 4.x in Redhat to be able to share the X:0 desktop. www.realvnc.com get the beta version. Any vnc server/client on Windows will do.

I don't know of any VNC servers for Linux that would allow file transfers though.

Originally posted by OS samurai
like nodsu said I do'nt know of any VNC servers that will allow you to transfer files between win & linux you might give samba a shot though
http://www.hk8.org/old_web/linux/run/ch12_01.htm

Thanks. everyone!
I gave samba a shot!