HP W7 laptop won't boot to desktop

learninmypc

My landlady asked me for help so I plugged it in & pushed the power on button & once it came up it says " No bootable device-- insert boot disk and press any key.
I have no boot disk for it so I powered it off , waited a few minutes & booted it back up pressing the f8 key & it said to press the esc key for start up menu. I did such & it says
Start up menu
F1 System Info
F2 System Diagnostics
F9 Boot Device options
F10 BIOS setup
F11 System Recovery
F12 Network boot

ENTER - Continue Startup (Didn't do it) ( I did it but it wouldn't.)

For more information , please visit www.hp.com\go\techcenter\startup

This laptop is used in a business & I'm told some important documents are on it. What should I do? Would F11 be a good start? Thanks

Last edited:
Ok, even thou I'm no techie, I went thru the F keys mentioned & have UNfortunately determined the harddrive is dead.Capturemem test.JPG
The other photos I took are too big too post. :( I'll tell her the laptop is dead :(

Anybody know how to remove the harddrive on this laptop?
Where do I find the info so I can give it to my landlady so she can get a new harddrive?

Last edited:
Their should be a flat panel with four screws on the bottom of the laptop. This will give you access to the hard drive.

Ok, looking at the bottom of it, I see 1 panel with 2 screws only. Two other panels have one screw each on its panel.

Ok, I have reason to believe that big one is the harddrive but one of the screws is inaccessible to me. I'm going to need another way to find out what kind/size of harddrive it is.
When I pressed F2 as mentioned above, it gave me a bunch of info but not sure about harddrive size/type.

Can not tell from the pic if that is the harddrive. If it were it should have a bracket with screws on top . That will let you remove it.