IBM Director. Is it any good?

I need to find a suitable diagnostics tool that can be used to check the health of all the machines on a network, as well as their peripheral devices. IBM Director has been recommended but I know nothing about it. I've been told it can be very hard on memory. These testimonials have been unconvincing at best. Does Microsoft SCOM do the same thing??
I have very little experience with this so any advice is really appreciated.

Thanks.

check the health of all the machines on a network
how many systems are there - - more precisely, are they all on one subnet (eg 192.168.x.*) from one router or do you multiple subnets (192.168.1.*, 192.168.2.*, . . . 192.168.n.*)?

Define "health". I wrote Availability Monitoring stuff for Unix systems and health took in considerations like:
  1. memory usage
  2. paging statistics
  3. processes vs number in the run queue
  4. disk capacity
  5. disk activity
  6. network utilization
  7. systems defined vs systems online

I need to monitor several hundred IBM tills which are on multiple subnets (192.168.1.*, 192.168.2.*, . . . 192.168.n.*). I need to check that the peripherals (printer, scanner, ) connected to each system are working and if not find out what the problem is.

As I said, I'm new to this, trying to research possible ways of doing this.

These system tools are BIG, expensive and complicated.
IBM tills which are on multiple subnets (192.168.1.*, 192.168.2.*, . . . 192.168.n.*). I need to check that the peripherals (printer, scanner, )
by tills, to you mean teller or cashier stations and/or atms?
suggest you see the FAQ
and the descriptive info

They are cashier tills. Thanks for the FAQ link. I didn't see this when I was on IBMs site. Again, please forgive my inexperience in this area and thanks for your help.

Btw: this stuff is terribly complicated. as an example,

any device with an IP address can be seen to be online using ping, BUT