IDE hard drive question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reckoning

On a computer i own there was 1 IDE hard drive and it was running low on space so i bought another IDE hard drive. I bought an IDE cable that had 3 connections (1 for motherboard, 2 for other IDE connections) When i hooked up both of the open IDE connections to each of the hard drives windows would not boot, so i messes around a bit and noticed if i have the 1st connection on motherboard, 2nd (middle) connection no being used, and the 3rd and final connection on my old drive windows boots fine. Im not a comp pro so i was wondering if anyone knew what i could do? Can you run 2 hard drives off 1 IDE cable? Another computer i have uses 1 connection for CD ROM and another for hard drive.. is that the only available thing you can do? Thanks in advance for any comments

Can you run 2 hard drives off 1 IDE
Yes
On the back of the ATA HardDrives, you will see a little jumper
Put both jumers on CS (Cable Select)
Put the Bootable Windows HardDrive in the middle, and the other on the end

If it doesn't work, try M (Master) on the Main Drive, and Slave on the end one.

kimsland said:
Yes
On the back of the ATA HardDrives, you will see a little jumper
Put both jumers on CS (Cable Select)
Put the Bootable Windows HardDrive in the middle, and the other on the end

If it doesn't work, try M (Master) on the Main Drive, and Slave on the end one.
The new hard drive didnt come with any jumpers, how do i get ahold of 1?

kimsland said:
Without any jumpers in the back, what does the HardDrive say that it's set to ? (CS ?)
What do you man what does it say its set to? The comp didnt boot up while having that drive connected so i dont know what its set to

There's a picture or diagram on the HardDrive, or sometimes just little letters saying M CS

You need to check the picture out, it'll probably be CS, just put the other drive to CS too (the main drive in the middle)

kimsland said: