TechSpot

Identify causes of Windows 7 BSOD (codes 50 and 3b)

By calris
Jan 23, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hi All,

    I'm running a fresh install of Windows 7 in an Asus M2A-VM HDMI motherboard with a WinFast DTV1000S TV tuner. This machine has been working very stable with Windows Vista)

    I had a lot of trouble getting RAID working under Windows 7 (search for m2a-vm-hdmi posted by calris on the Australian Media Center Community) but I think I have that sorted.

    The PC has crashed twice (once while scanning for TV channels and once when selecting a TV channel after resuming from sleep) so I am inclined to think it is a problem with the TV tuner

    Can anyone confirm?

    Here are the details from the event log:

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting
    Date: 23/01/2011 4:07:34 PM
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: HTPC-PC
    Description:
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000003b (0x00000000c0000005, 0xfffff80002b9f916, 0xfffff88008a63ad0, 0x0000000000000000). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 012311-24679-01.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns=link removed>
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting" Guid="{ABCE23E7-DE45-4366-8631-84FA6C525952}" EventSourceName="BugCheck" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="16384">1001</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-01-23T05:07:34.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>1884</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>HTPC-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="param1">0x0000003b (0x00000000c0000005, 0xfffff80002b9f916, 0xfffff88008a63ad0, 0x0000000000000000)</Data>
    <Data Name="param2">C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP</Data>
    <Data Name="param3">012311-24679-01</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    Log Name: System
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting
    Date: 23/01/2011 3:30:07 PM
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: HTPC-PC
    Description:
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000050 (0xfffffb8901442a0b, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff8000288e53b, 0x0000000000000007). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP. Report Id: 012311-40014-01.
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns=link removed>
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting" Guid="{ABCE23E7-DE45-4366-8631-84FA6C525952}" EventSourceName="BugCheck" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="16384">1001</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-01-23T04:30:07.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>1785</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>HTPC-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="param1">0x00000050 (0xfffffb8901442a0b, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff8000288e53b, 0x0000000000000007)</Data>
    <Data Name="param2">C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP</Data>
    <Data Name="param3">012311-40014-01</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    Do you have the latest system, video and TV tuner drivers installed?

    How much memory does your system have?

    Finally, can you reproduce the problems that caused it to crash?
     
  3. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Latest drivers (as far as I am aware) are installed. Most have been updated automatically via Windows Update however the SB600 RAID drivers have been manually updated because Asus have not kept up with ATI/AMD. I have cross-checked the DTV1000S drivers in the Leadtek site and can confirm that the drivers installed by Windows Update are the same version as those on the Leadtek site

    My system has 3GB of RAM

    I can reproduce it somewhat - The crash occurs if I put the PC into sleep mode while watching TV and then try to watch TV after resuming - but not always. Sleep mode always seems to cause a total loss of TV reception, but not always a crash, and not always immediately
     
  4. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    Sleep mode can do wacky things sometimes. Can you stop whatever programs are running your TV prior to putting it to sleep?
     
  5. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I can as a bit of a test, but it is not a realistic long-term solution. This is our media center PC which typically has no mouse or keyboard so shutting down Windows Media Center is going to be pretty hard.

    I have just downloaded the Microsoft SDK (to get the debug tools) and Windows 7 retail symbols to try and have a look into the dump files myself, but can't seem to get a good look at them running under Windows XP x86 - If I download and install these on the Windows 7 PC, am I likely to get more information from the dumps than I already have (from NirSoft Blue Screen View for example)

    Also, would using the 'Driver Verifier' on the suspect drivers provide any more useful information?
     
  6. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    Yeah, if you're able to read the dump files properly, it should tell you what is crashing. You can also run memtest to make sure that your RAM is acting properly.

    I haven't really messed around too much with WMC because my few experiences were kinda buggy and crashy.

    There are a lot of Google hits for WMC crashing after coming out of sleep. A few people said that hibernating instead of sleep worked better for them. But I think that it appears to be an issue with the sleep itself rather than any hardware.

    There may be other software out there that will provide a more stable experience than WMC.
     
  7. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I can confirm I can reliably reproduce the crash by:

    Run WMC->Watch Live TV->Sleep->Wake->Watch Live TV

    No amount of closing applications or killing processes before or after sleep seems to prevent the crash.

    I've downloaded the debug tools (WinDbg) and used 'verifier' to setup some more diagnostics on some drivers and had a few 'possible culprits'

    - Daemon Tools
    - gearAspiWDM.sys (part of iTunes?)
    - mcGlidHost.exe (MWC In-Band Guide Locator)

    But I think these are all red herrings - I've changed the BIOS to only support S1 Sleep and the problem has gone away although now the fans still run, so pulling more power than S3 :(
     
  8. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    Hm. How about increasing the amount of space on your hard drive for virtual memory, or using a usb memory stick for ready boost?

    How about exiting WMC and then putting into one of the more efficient sleep states?

    Also, have you tried reproducing the problem on a more "robust" system? That could show if the problem is with the WMC in and of itself, or just if your HTPC does not have enough juice to handle the program.
     
  9. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    As I said, no amount of closing programs of killing processes helps

    And it used to work on this exact same system under Vista WMC

    I've created a forum thread in the Australian Media Center Community forums so I'll see what pops up
     
  10. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    Hm. Maybe it has something to do with the RAID?

    When it goes into the deeper sleep modes, it writes the stuff on the HD. With the less powerful sleep modes, it stays in the system memory. So when you go into S1 sleep, it keeps it in the RAM, ergo it works. So when it tries to write to the HD, its not able to do it properly due to its RAID issues, when it tries to access this data upon waking, its corrupted and it BSOD's on you?

    Were you also using a RAID with the Vista setup?

    Have you tried running your HTPC without RAID?
     
  11. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    RAID was working perfectly fine in Vista

    Both S3 and S1 retain data in RAM

    I will try disabling the RAID to see if that make a difference
     
  12. gwailo247

    gwailo247 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,011   +18

    My bad, I should have used hibernate, I was referring to s4, not s3.

    Does this apply to your situation?

    Also, have you messed around with the Sleep settings in the Power Options in control panel?
    Do you have hybrid sleep enabled?
     
  13. calris

    calris TS Rookie Topic Starter

    None of those BSOD have happened on my system

    I really should try Hibernate (S4) next
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...