TechSpot

IE vs Firefox

By gtppopzz
Sep 2, 2008
  1. tw0rld

    tw0rld TS Maniac Posts: 609   +6

    Safari is faster than them all.
     
  2. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Firefox has a spell checker. And the Google Toolbar has a spell checker.
     
  3. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,630   +321

    Maybe. But I don't know of any yet published tests showing Safari, Opera, FF, and IE7 (everyone leaves out Opera). And none at all involving Chrome. And then even at that it depends on the OS and processor arch (like ppc vs intel for the OS X end).
     
  4. tw0rld

    tw0rld TS Maniac Posts: 609   +6


    This is very brief, but supports my statement; http://www.zimbrablog.com/blog/archives/2008/06/and-the-winner-is.html. Opera is still MIA.

    Firefox safe? http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilities/. More to come as the browser gets more popular?
     
  5. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,630   +321

    Yeh wtf? I just don't understand why nobody compares Opera in these head to head tests. And of course Opera always claims they are the fastest.

    I run Opera on all my machines regardless of the OS, I love the 'sync' that you can do between them, and the speed dial syncs as well. Plus I learned tabs on Opera, everything else that has attempted tabs since seems so inferior...

    I've been toying with Chrome for a few hours now (over the past 2 days) and I like it. But not well enough to make me pick it over Opera.
     
  6. gtppopzz

    gtppopzz TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 37

    I think I will try Chrome out today see if I like it or not plus it just gives me another browser to test support of my web pages on.

    I agree with you guys about Opera being MIA and I know I didn't put Opera in the title of my post but that's mainly because right now IE is #1 and Firefox is #2. I felt they were the most relevant to compare with the new release of Chrome. I do want to note that I did mention Opera in the original post meaning I felt it did have some relevance in the conversation knowing there are a lot of users who prefer it. :)


    I find it a little interesting since Google backs Firefox and has and I guess their contract with Firefox is until at least 2011 which means how will Google go about working around their own Chrome release? Its kind of like Google is trying to back two products that are similar and in the same market but not made by the same people trying to compete with one other large entity.

    Oh and by the way the best feature in Firefox is the auto spell check saves me tons of time every day! I realize as other companies find features that people really like in their browser they will also add it to theirs or create a plug in or something that will allow it to work.
     
  7. DaMak420

    DaMak420 TS Rookie Posts: 227

    Here is a link to some reviews of Chrome. i found them interesting. - (safe link)http://www.portfolio.com/views/blogs/the-tech-observer/2008/09/03/chrome-reviews-everywhere

    Honestly... until chrome gets far less glitchy, and a little more secure..... i wont be using it.

    As it sits right now... between IE/FF/Chrome (i dont use safari or opera)

    IE < Chrome < FF

    As i believe some1 way back on page one stated.... there isnt really anything wrong with IE... and it is certainly the STANDARD for viewing web pages. Chrome is a little better (from what I read) but still has some security issues, which I am sure will be worked out quickly, and some glitchy features. it IS still a beta.... Also... read the EULA for chrome very carefully, you might not like what you read. you give google the rights to use anything you do through that browser.... and you also MUST agree to automatic, and forced updates. even if you dont want to update.

    FF > ie/chrome. FF is safest, and has too many great features to list.
     
  8. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    IE 8 (Still in Beta)
    is VERY close to being released
    Please give your thoughts then to its ability (ie every other browser seems to be updating, it's only fair)
     
  9. DaMak420

    DaMak420 TS Rookie Posts: 227


    IE has potential kim. It always has..... but it seems MS stays behind the curve(almost on purpose) I havent had a chance to play around with the IE8 beta, but ill take a peek and let ya know what I think.(not that MY opinion REALLY matters lol....)

    the biggest thing going for IEx is that every damn website in the world is designed to be viewed with it.

    I am an avid FF user 4ever, but I still keep IE rdy for those trouble pages.
     
  10. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Can't argue with that :)

    I'd also be interested in what you think of IE8 (I've used it, I suppose of course ;) )
    But being Beta, the analysis cannot be fully comprehensively conclusive
     
  11. gtppopzz

    gtppopzz TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 37

    I might try IE8 out here in the next couple of days as well. As far as what I can tell you about Chrome so far is I am not a huge fan took me like 2 minutes to figure out how to print and I never did find a print preview option. I am sure those in the long run are just minor and will be fixed and also have to do with learning the new layout and so fourth but so far I am not a huge fan.
     
     
  12. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    I think i probably will switch to chrome eventually, as Google is i bigger company and can afford to make the software.

    But my decision will hang on the addons available.

    I avoid using IE at all costs. is there a way you can get rid on it? or would that be a bad idea?
     
  13. gtppopzz

    gtppopzz TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 37

    Yeah you can't get rid of IE its essential for Windows to run properly. If you dislike IE that much just simply remove the IE short cut and delete it from your start menu and then just tell yourself its gone. It's not like just cause you use IE your are automatically doomed its not going to make your world collapse.
     
  14. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Posts: 4,686   +86

    Yes IE is needed to research data on FCC site FF doesn't work or maybe IE extensions are needed
     
  15. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    No, it is not. It is only essential for getting the Windows Updates. If you do not get Windows Updates, it is not essential. IT is not essential to run the operating system.

    Microsoft released Beta 2, targeted for all consumers, on August 27, 2008. The final version is scheduled to be released in 2008.

    The GOOD thing is that users have put their thinking caps on and realized that there are choices. Having choices is always a good thing!
     
  16. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    Its just annoying that even though I've set default browser to fire fox (well at least i think i have)
    Some programs still incist on opening help pages and what not in IE
     
  17. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    No it wasnt lol, even though i set it as it when i first got firefox, maybe it changed back to IE when i got FF 3.0.

    I hope that programs will open help in FF now
     
  18. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Many programs are designed to work only with IE, and will only go to IE for processes they need. Can't be helped... only 33 percent of software is designed to be able to work with Firefox or others by setting up their own defaults.
     
  19. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Richard, IE tends to be pushy. I found that not only do you have to set Firefox to be the default browser, but you also have to "unset" IE- like this:

    Internet Options> Programs tab> UNCHECK 'Internet Explorer should check to see if it's the default'> Apply> OK.
    If you are asked 'no it isn't- do you want it to be', click on No.

    raybay, do you have that much opening in IE with Firefox as default?
     
  20. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,821   +922

    Vanity Browsers a Poor Second to a Trophy Wife, But Cheaper to get Rid Of..!

    By necessity my "default browser" is IE7. This is only because I have Verizon as an IP and I didn't want them to exert any control over my other browser installations, (Opera & FF 2.0019).

    I only use IE in conjunction with a couple of email accounts and obviously, M$ support and update. FF does whatever I need it to do 97% of the time. It does not accommodate Active X. Hooray!!!!! When "Noscript" is installed in FF, all the BS Ads and tracking nonsense goes away, and I can browse in peace.

    I think that with script blocking FF2 is about as secure as any other browser, maybe more so.

    A computer actually isn't a necessity to me. (Meh?) So, not for the sake of argument, I simply enjoy the looks I can give FF more so than any other browser I've tried. I know, all is vanity, blah, blah. But, since I enjoy surfing the net, it's sort of like driving a car you enjoy the looks of, rather than one you had to buy to take a dozen kids to soccer practice.

    @Bobbye; I haven't found any necessity of making FF my default browser. The only time IE (my default) intrudes is when I might try to send something from within FF, then IE launches. But this isn't any more intrusive than when Photoshop, (or any other app), is set as the default imaging app. A simple right click and an "open with" will open a photo with "Windows Image and Fax Viewer" for a quick perusal.

    I'm certainly not disputing that IE can be pushy, you hit that right on the head.
     
  21. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    But IE (like many things on my messed up profile) Doesn't like opening, well i say it doesn't like opening when in fact it loves opening but it doesn't like closing, lol

    It always stops responding as soon as i hit the x
     
  22. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    How can i reset IE to its most basic settings? Because i don't feel like i need any of the updates as i never use it
     
  23. gtppopzz

    gtppopzz TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 37

    You can reset all IE settings in IE 7 by going to tools --> Internet options then --> advanced tab at the bottom is a reset button which will reset all IE functions remove temp files, add-ons and makes all settings default is that what you mean?

    I am downloading IE 8 Beta now I will be trying it out in the next few days I will let you know what I find to compare it with Chrome and Firefox.
     
  24. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,392   +36

    Tools> Internet Options> Programs tab> Reset Web settings> Apply> OK.
     
  25. Richardw9

    Richardw9 TS Rookie Posts: 137

    well ive just had my hard drive wiped so i don't think i need that any more lol
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.