TechSpot

Interested in Mac..

By Forsberg
Aug 31, 2005
  1. I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to Mac. I have always used Windows. More or less I'm becoming bored and wanted to play around with other OS's. Bare with me for I have a few ***** questions.
    1. Can I install Mac on my computer that currently has Xp Home. Do I delete the partition and create one with Mac?
    2. Is there any special hadware I need to have. (special apple hardware?)
    3. How is the stability of Mac. I'm interested in Tiger.
    4. Is it worth it?

Thanks for the help and pointers!!

2. jobeard

jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

Not yet. Apple has announced Intel support some time soon and there
    happens to be a bootleg(read illegal) copy out there.
    Pragmatically, yes. There's the Mac Mini for $499 and you provide
    mouse, montor & keyboard. Networking and sound is already included.
    10.3.9 is VERY stable! Also far less prone to trojans and viruses for several reason
    (I'll not debate here) Tiger is still in its infancy and has 2-3 major updates already. VPN/Cisco features are shaky
    Very subjective issue. With years of Windows experience, it is likely that
    you will see OS X as trivial, unless you dive into the FreeBSD (read Unix)
    underpinnings.

3. LNCPapa

LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,333   +278

I use Windows, Mac, and Linux daily and love them all. I couldn't live without a windows machine though - can't say the same for the other two. As for your other questions seems joe took care of those already. I haven't had any issues with 10.4.2 yet and since the release of OS X I've refused to use anything older.

4. jobeard

jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,446   +324

I avoided bringing a computer into the house for Y E A R S, knowing that
    it would be the begining of a "camel's nose in the tent". When the wife wanted
    to start desktop publishing in '84, our first machine was a Mac IIci (which happens to still run ).