Interested in Mac..

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to Mac. I have always used Windows. More or less I'm becoming bored and wanted to play around with other OS's. Bare with me for I have a few ***** questions.
1. Can I install Mac on my computer that currently has Xp Home. Do I delete the partition and create one with Mac?
2. Is there any special hadware I need to have. (special apple hardware?)
3. How is the stability of Mac. I'm interested in Tiger.
4. Is it worth it?

Thanks for the help and pointers!!

1. Can I install Mac on my computer that currently has Xp Home. Do I delete the partition and create one with Mac?
Not yet. Apple has announced Intel support some time soon and there
happens to be a bootleg(read illegal) copy out there.
2. Is there any special hadware I need to have. (special apple hardware?)
Pragmatically, yes. There's the Mac Mini for $499 and you provide
mouse, montor & keyboard. Networking and sound is already included.
3. How is the stability of Mac. I'm interested in Tiger. (10.4.*)
10.3.9 is VERY stable! Also far less prone to trojans and viruses for several reason
(I'll not debate here) Tiger is still in its infancy and has 2-3 major updates already. VPN/Cisco features are shaky
4. Is it worth it?
Very subjective issue. With years of Windows experience, it is likely that
you will see OS X as trivial, unless you dive into the FreeBSD (read Unix)
underpinnings.

I use Windows, Mac, and Linux daily and love them all. I couldn't live without a windows machine though - can't say the same for the other two. As for your other questions seems joe took care of those already. I haven't had any issues with 10.4.2 yet and since the release of OS X I've refused to use anything older.

LNCPapa said:
I use Windows, Mac, and Linux daily and love them all. I couldn't live without a windows machine though - - -
I avoided bringing a computer into the house for Y E A R S, knowing that