TechSpot

Internet connected, but IE cannot display this page

By sassyt76
Mar 23, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hi everyone out there. I have been working on a emachine desktop that the customer could not get there ie to work. Well I did what I had to to find out that the adapter was bad so I replaced it with an usb network adapter. now it is saying that it is connected but ie will still not display the page. I have made sure that the settings are automatically detected. I need serious help. I know it's something simple. I have reset my router and modem and it still displays the same msg. I have a laptop connected to the same router and modem and its connection is fine. On the desktop I'm even able to update programs on the computer but ie just won't work. What could be wrong? Pls hlp!
     
  2. Mizzou

    Mizzou TS Enthusiast Posts: 823

    You might want to check to be sure the browser is not in offline mode, especially if other network functions are working.
     
  3. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    internet explorer cannot display this webpage

    I would also like to add that when I go and open ie the install ie8 msg window pops up. Should I try to reinstall ie or firefox or something else. I just don't understand. And my working offline mode is not checked.
     
  4. Zilpha

    Zilpha TS Enthusiast Posts: 319

    What is it that made you think the Network card was bad? Make sure that the proxy settings in IE are cleared - Tools - Internet Options - Connections - Lan Settings - Automatically detect.


    Also - have you tried navigating to another page? Maybe there is nothing wrong at all and the default page is just bad. I've seen it happen.
     
  5. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    internet explorer cannot display this webpage

    I did make sure the proxy settings were clear and that it detect them automatically. I spoke with my internet provider and they had me to go thru steps to see if it was on their end or mine and we went further to find out that it was the network adapter. I have also tried other pages as well. And still no success.
     
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,346   +622

    please cite a specific URL that has this problem - - it could easily be a content problem.
     
  7. Zilpha

    Zilpha TS Enthusiast Posts: 319

    What steps did you go through to determine that the network card is bad? What I am getting at here is if it's a software issue it's going to happen regardless of the network card you install and it might not have been the hardware in the first place.
     
  8. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Internet connected, but IE cannot display the webpage

    The msg above displays when ever I open IE. The home page is set to http://www.google.com. The technician asked me to disable my network adapter and restart the computer and let the computer recognize that it needs to be enable or I guess reinstalled. And after restarting it did recognize that it was missing, so it enabled it and reinstalled it. After all of that I tried to open IE again but I still received the same msg. And that's when they told m that the network adapter needs to be replaced. I purchased a usb network adapter and installed it. It shows that it is connected to the network but I just can't get IE to connect with it.
     
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,346   +622

    hint: If your pc can perform these simple tests
    • ping 127.0.0.1
    • ping 8.8.8.8
    • ping google.com
    THEN there is nothing wrong with any of your networking hardware!

    If Email or your browser has issues, then it will be in the software, the settings, or options you've elected - - such as add-ons.

    Changing hardware is almost always a waste of time and effort as the same symptoms usually reappear.
     
  10. Zilpha

    Zilpha TS Enthusiast Posts: 319

    Ok first of all, Disabling your network adapter and restarting the computer isn't going to reinstall the driver.

    What he SHOULD have asked you to do was click start -> run and type devmgmt.msc to open the Device Manager, right click the network adapter in question and click Uninstall, THEN reboot the computer so that it reinstalls the drivers.

    That would rule out corrupted drivers as a possible issue. If you haven't done this, I suggest removing the adapter you installed (possibly unnecessarily), reinstalling the drivers on the original Network adapter using this method and then reporting back with what happens after that.

    Once the computer is back online click on Start - Run and type CMD
    Then type ipconfig and report back with the information.
     
  11. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Internet connected, but iIE cannot display this page

    Jobeard these are the result from what you told me to do:
    ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 <0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 <0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 53ms, Maximum = 61ms, Average = 56ms

    ping statistics for google.com[72.14.204.103] :
    Packets sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 <0% loss)
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 53ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 54ms

    At Zilpha I meant to say that's what he had me to do and it still showed the same msg.
     
  12. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,346   +622

    fine :) with ZERO losses and the ability to translate google.com into the IP address and get zero losses there too;

    Q.E.D.; your TCP settings are just fine. DON"T change them!

    If your browser or email is failing, then work on those pieces, not TCP
     
  13. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,346   +622

    symptom: you can PING and NSLOOKUP google.com but not display pages

    Possible fixes:using runas /user:administrator cmd

    netsh int ip reset C:\IPreset.log
    netsh winsock rese
    t​
     
  14. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Results from: netsh int ip reset C:\IPreset.log
    Resetting Echo Request, Failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Resetting Global Request, Failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Resetting Interface Request, Failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Resetting Unicast Request, Failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Resetting Route Request, Failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    Results from netsh winsock reset:
    The requested operation requires elevation.
     
  15. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,346   +622

    I think that says all, you need to Elevate the privileges ofthe Command Prompt before you enter the command.
     
  16. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Internet connected, but IE cannot display this webpage

    How do you elevate the privileges of the command?
     
  17. sassyt76

    sassyt76 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Internet conected, but IE cannot display this page

    Ok I went tanother sie that I looked up and I did whit said do which was at command prompt type: IPCONFIG /ALL and here are my results as follows. I tried making a copy so I could load as an attachmen but I don't know how to do so. But here's the results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright <c> 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Tata>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: TATA-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . . . . . .:
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ..: Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled . . . . . . . .. . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled . . . . .. . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . . . : Belkin
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11 USB Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 00-A1-B0-01-2C-A7
    DHCP Enabed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: Yes
    Autoconfiguratin Enabled . . . . . .. .: Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . : fe80::6c65:e876:958e:a414%15<Preferred>
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.3.5 <Preferred>
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, March 26, 2011 6:22:19 PM
    Lease Expires. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 03, 2147
    Default Gateway. . . . . . . . .. . . . . : 192.168.3.1
    DHCP Server. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.3.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . : 251699632
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . .:00-01-00-01-0E-9E-34-3C-00-1D-72-AE-0B-F5

    DNS Servers. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . : 192.168.3.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix. . . . . :
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Psuedo-Interface
    Phyiscal Address. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address . . . . . . .. . .2001:0:4137:9e76:4c7:33ff:3f57:fcfa <Preferred>
    Link-local IPv6 Address ...................: fe80:4c7:33ff:3f57:fcfa%10<Preferred>
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip . . .. . . . . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ... .: Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix. . . . . .: Belkin
    Description. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . . . . . : Yes

    From this info can you tell me what is wrong?
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...