Internet connection for Windows security only

pot1234Dreadlox

Hi Guys, hope this is the right forum... I have a W7 home professional sp 1 which has suddently lost internet connectivity, for any browser or program requiring updates via the internet....odd, but Windows Security Essentials seems to update but no joy for anything else. The network centre 'map' shows the machine is connected. I am pretty new at this, so any help would be appreciated....thanks in advance, DL

Hi Guys, hope this is the right forum... I have a W7 home professional sp 1 which has suddently lost internet connectivity, for any browser or program requiring updates via the internet....odd, but Windows Security Essentials seems to update but no joy for anything else. The network centre 'map' shows the machine is connected. I am pretty new at this, so any help would be appreciated....thanks in advance, DL
What happens when you click a browser to go online?
What browser(s) are you using?

Hi, thanks. Nothing happens, it says that it there is no internet connection. Have tried iexplorer (no internet connection) and firefox (no home page for google.com)... given that the computer is obviously connected (well, to Microsoft anyway) this is really strange.... would be a configuration issue? I am new to this so could it be a setting? thanks for your help, DL

Hi, thanks. Nothing happens, it says that it there is no internet connection. Have tried iexplorer (no internet connection) and firefox (no home page for google.com)... given that the computer is obviously connected (well, to Microsoft anyway) this is really strange.... would be a configuration issue? I am new to this so could it be a setting? thanks for your help, DL
Ok, launch iexplorer (I'm guessing you mean IE 9?) Click File in the very top left of the browser & in the drop down menu, is there a check on Work Offline? If so,UNcheck it. Do same with ALL browsers.