Internet on 2 PCs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

poteljito

So i have 2 PCs, and since i bought the new one i neglected the old one. So when i bought it I just connected the router to the new PC. So now I want to connect the old one too. So my ISP service told me that since it's this time of the year that i would have to wait a little more for them to set it up. The other solution is to buy a wireless router, so they suggested linksys WRT54G. So i was wondering since I'm a total newb in that area, how do i connect 2 PCs to it?

im sure your isp supported you with a modem, link that modem to a router with at least 2 ethernet outputs, its rather a simple solution.

If the router has only one ethernet connection, you could get yourself a simple ethernet switch with, say, four or five ports, and connect the router and both of your PCs to that.

That's how I had my network configured until I bought a new four-port router. My switch was a five-port D-Link but such devices should be available from any common network hardware manufacturer.

no, NOT A SWITCH -- you need a router. If you use the switch, you'll just need to wait for your ISP OR cause lan shutdown due to duplicate IP addresses.

From the modem, connect the wire to the new router WAN port and your PCs to an LAN port -- quite trivial and no ISP assistance required :)

Ok so i have the new wireless router. And it' not quite working. So here's the deal. I plug the old modem to the new router and from the new router to my first PC. And that's ok. But i can't connect the second PC since it doesn't have the right port. Do i need some kind of a ethernet card for the second old PC? Oh please help.:rolleyes: