Ion LP2 flash record player - no sound

NCISabbyfan

I have an ION IO2 LP2 Flash Record Player, which enables customers to play records at 33 and 45 rpm via a hi-fi or a computer and transfer the records to a USB stick among other options.

I wish to play records via my computer, but I have a dilemma:

Although my records spin fine on the turntable, when I connect the USB lead to the back of my computer (I currently have Windows Vista if relevant), there is no sound.

What is preventing the sound?, and how do I achieve sound?

I'd thought that sound would be instant, once the lead was connected, but I am very keen to find a solution so I can make the most of my record deck and recording options.

Also, is Audacity easy to set up?
(there are 2 options - the eZ Player, which is good but has least Scratch Filter options, and Audacity)

I look forward to your feedback.

Seeking help

Can anyone assist me?

Thinking further, as I'm not a technical expert, is the cause of No Sound due to a setting in my Computer?

I imagine it's not a fault in the record player, but either way, I can't get any sound out of the record player.

If whatever's blocking the sound is in the computer, which settings do I need to look for to achieve sound?, and/or

Is it because I don't yet have Audacity set up that I'm getting no sound?

I'm very keen to use my record player. :)

Although record players will vary and I'm not sure if any of you have an ION record player, perhaps there are other record players where Sound has to be activated a specific way where some of you have had the same muted sound on your record players of a different brand or different model or ION.

Please help asap.

When you plug in / unplug the USB cable are you hearing the Windows device connect/disconnect ding dong each time?

I assume your player has its own AC adapter? It's plugged in and turned on?