IP address changing on its own causes printer to stop working

This is my first post and I want to begin by saying that I am not very tech savvy, although I am the default computer "expert" (yikes!) in our house as my husband has never used a computer.

The problem I am having is that IP addresses within our wireless network are changing on their own quite frequently. This causes the network printer to stop working. Interestingly, sometimes the IP addresses switch (ie, the IP address for my laptop changes to the IP address that the printer had last week, etc). I know this to be true because I have a "cheat sheet" of steps I follow from Brother (our printer manufacturer) which includes the steps of obtaining the IP address for the computers and the printer on the network and then pinging the printer. I have recorded the IP address on that sheet for each computer and printer IP address and I am constantly having to cross them out and change them.

Is this frequent IP address change normal? Is there a way to establish permanent IP addresses? If not (or if that isn't desirable) is there some way to stop the constant effects it has on the network printer?

Thank you for your help with this issue!

Yes this can be resolved two ways
Address reservation and Static IP address assignment.

The former is much easier but I need the make/model number of your router to give HOW-TO details - - -

Yes I have to agree with the prior member. Set it to static IP and also change the Router to see it as static IP also. Don't do DHCP just causes issues.

Router Information

Thank you so much for your reply.

My router is: Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router with Speed Booster

Model #: WRT54GS Ver. 6

I appreciate your help!

Theresa

The stock Linksys firmware does not support "static
DHCP", "reserved DHCP", "reserved leases", "Pre-assigned DHCP", or
whatever it's called this week.
Basically this says the easy approach will not work and we need to take one of two others.