iPhone 5 ships with scuffs, Apple tightens production standards

By Rick
Oct 11, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. Amongst the several complaints lodged against the newly released iPhone 5, it is perhaps most difficult to ignore the continuous flow of claims that iPhones are shipping with scuffs, nicks, chips and scratches -- even before removing it from the...

Read more
  2. VitalyT

VitalyT TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,571   +480

I'll have iPhone 6 with a bullet-through feature any time, me and my redneck bros.
    Apple - keep at it!
  3. ReederOnTheRun

ReederOnTheRun TechSpot Booster Posts: 310   +62

Seems like the iphone 5 has a new issue every day. So much for their high grade metallic design.
    ghasmanjr likes this.
  4. This aluminium is not anodized (on that picture), I worked in it, this is simple painted
  5. Zoltan Head

Zoltan Head TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 268   +27

Perhaps it's anodized aluminium under the paint? :)
  6. Ranger1st

Ranger1st TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 265   +77

Anodising does not take well to sharp or small corners/edges, a High school science class learns this right out of the box.

Guest does have a case though, the image shown is not typical of anodising damage. Would have to see the actual surface to really know and I won't be going out of my way to get a look at a I phone any time soon.
  7. Jim$ter

Jim$ter TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 119   +20

My iPhone5 is shiny...but does have the major WiFi problem. I'm surprised no news site is picking up on the Wifi Problems...No... not the, it's using cellular instead of wifi but, the wifi is super slow, stops working completely, or won't even connect. I'm so sick of my crappy WiFi on the phone I just turned it off for now. Seems like replacing the phones are hit and miss...But apparently Apple is aware of the problem. Over 100 pages on the issue at Apples forums https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4322714?start=1635&tstart=0 But hey...It's an iPhone5 right!
  8. Denxnis