Is this a good time to buy? (proposed build inside)

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey, first post here, hope this is the right place for it...

i'm wondering if right now is a good time to buy a gaming pc. i know there is always something better on the horizon so you gotta just jump in and make a decision, but i'm not super tech savy. not sure if i should wait for windows 7 and direct x 11 cards and when am3/i7(ddr3 setups) are more affordable.

first i'll explain what i want to do, then i'll post the specs of what i'm planning to buy and hopefully somebody has some advice. i'm a college student who isn't in debt and have some money saved up, so it's not like it's of dire importance that i buy at the best possible time, but i'm reasonable enough to wait if it's worth it.

most importantly i want to be able to play starcraft 2 and diablo 3 on high to very high with 30 fps on at least 1440 res. i know they're not out and there are no benchmarks, but pure speculation on your part is fine by me.

secondly i'd like to play dawn of war II 30 fps at 1690 res (if that's too high 1440 is fine)

thirdly i'd like to get the enthusiast crysis experience. i know i'm probably not going to get 1690 and 45 fps, but 30 fps on 1440 sounds great to me personally.

also, plan on getting prototype for the pc

i plan on overclocking too.

the other stuff i need to do, i'm sure this will be fully capable of delivering.
here are the specs (suggest away, i'm not locked into anything 100%):
$190 - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor Model HDZ940XCGIBOX
$30 - Sunbeam CR-CCTF92-4 92mm Core-Contact Freezer CPU Cooler W/TX-2
$110 - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard
$58 - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
$190 - SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card