Issues with my new WD HD and my MB

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm really new to building computers and I'm sure this topic has been gone over before, so please bare with me. So I'm trying to install a new WD HD in my mom’s PC, she had a virus and crashed the old one. It was an IDE 160GB WD and the MB is a Gigabyte GA-K8NS.
I bought a new 640GB WD SATA thinking it would be plug and play, but I was wrong. According to Gigabyte the MB is Theta 1 SATA and the HD is Theta 2 SATA. Does this sound right to anybody? WD told me to use the jumper on pins
5-6 to convert back to Theta 1, but this didn’t do anything for me. Now what I’m thinking is it’s cheaper to buy an IDE HD to run the OC and try to use the SATA for a 2nd HD but im not sure if the same issue will prevent me from doing this. Can I please get some input as to what you guys think about doing this?

Thanks

I've never had to set the jumper before but if for some reason yours isn't working without the jumper then maybe it needs it. So what happens when you boot the machine? Does it not see the hard drive?

02Lightning;897137b said:
I but this didn’t do anything for me. Now what I’m thinking is it’s cheaper to buy an IDE HD to run the OC and try to use the SATA for a 2nd HD but im not sure if the same issue will prevent me from doing this. Can I please get some input as to what you guys think about doing this?

Thanks
Well, I've never heard it called "theta 1 (or 2). So, I'm going to use the more familiar "SATA1 (150Mbs) and SATA2 (300Mbs). At one time Seagate had a jumper on its SATA2 drives that limited them to running at the SATA1 spec. It was intended to be removed when the drive was installed in a motherboard with the higher SATA2 standard.

To the best of my knowledge NO Western Digital SATA drive has ever had such a jumper. They do have a service jumper for factory testing, and if it's moved, the drive will no longer function.