Jobs in Computer Hardware

JohnnyDollar

Hi my name is john. I've always loved computers for as long as i can remember my parents buying the first one we had and i thought they were the coolest things ever. I must say i am no expert on computers and probably only know the basics if not the basics of the basics. I want to become a "tech guy". I have heard the best way to learn is to do it, but seeing as how the rest of my family doesn't really care about how the computer works just that it works at all i haven't really been able to mess around with my computer besides upgrading it every now and then. I wanted to know if there were any specific courses schools or jobs that could prepare me to become one. I live in California so any school in that area would be preferred. Is there in job now that could better teach me how to work with computers without having to know everything, something that could teach me. I have a friend who started working for his friends dad at his tech shop and in exchange for doing most labor work he taught him how to repair and mod computers. I don't really have that oppertunity. I don't really understand software as much as i understand hardware, obviously i need to know both to be able to know the other. can anyone guide me on the right track. Thank You.