Laptop fan burnt out and computer wont boot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

This is my first time posting here and I was hoping someone would be able to help me. The fan on my Compaq Presario laptop burnt out. (a core 2 duo) At first, it would still boot, but wouldn't stay on for longer than 30 mins. Well, now, it wont even boot at all. The light on the adapter still lights up when plugged in so there is still power going to it.

I was going to just replace the fan, but now I'm affraid I burnt out something else due to the fan not running. Is this possible? I don't want to send it in for service if something like the processor could be shot and its not worth fixing.

Thanks! Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

-Christine

Usually, the laptop has protection circuits so that it will not run if the fan doesn't turn or does not cool. You will find that a replacement fan is not easily found, and certainly not easy to install. Some of the Presario laptops require a simple fan replacement, but others have an assemblage of a fan, heatsink, and CPU heatsink all molded into one.

But replace whatever unit you have and it should work fine.

You get to it by removing 8 to 12 screws from the bottom. Keep notes on which size screws go where. Then remove the keyboard, taking care not to bend or stress the ribbone cable from the computer to the monitor. You will find the fan assembly in one corner. held in with five to eight screws.

The Compaq Presario laptop fans sell on eBay for from $6.99 to $26.56, if you can wait that long. Most have photographs of what the removed fan looks like.

Good luck.

Hi,

This is my first time posting here and I was hoping someone would be able to help me. The fan on my Compaq Presario laptop burnt out. (a core 2 duo) At first, it would still boot, but wouldn't stay on for longer than 30 mins. Well, now, it wont even boot at all. The light on the adapter still lights up when plugged in so there is still power going to it.