Laptop hacked and information stolen

Hi Team,
This must be an old topic for you guys but I am new to this.

Last night my Laptop was hacked using an application. Not sure what it is but I received a RAR file which I scanned thoroughly and then opened. The file passed the scan but the application got installed on my computer. Then I received a message that I was hacked and they provided the proof like the web sessions I was running at that time. It took around 2 hours to send me this message and demanding money. They even activated my Webcam and took a pic and sent me the link which made me believe completely.

I formatted my Laptop but I am not sure if my MAC address was hacked or not. What is the worst case scenario and what can happen?

Do I need to change my LAN card, replace my ADSL modem and replace the Belkin router?

Please let me know how I should go about.. waiting for your reply at the earliest.
Thanks.

Ok have you got any more threats sense you reformatted? You are behind a router and you do have your firewall up. You left them in,Buy opening the file. I doubt now that you have reinstall windows that they can get in. But to be on the safe side scan all email and do not open anything you do not know were it came from. There are few members here that are good with helping you with this problem so hold on, Hopefully they will pick up from here and help you out.

the worst case scenario that I can think is (maybe/there is a possibilty) the culprit has your password like email or bank account and other personal information that saved to your laptop..

the worst case scenario that I can think is (maybe/there is a possibilty) the culprit has your password like email or bank account and other personal information that saved to your laptop..